Frank Dudgeon http://kmuw.org en Fallen Officers To Be Honored At City Hall http://kmuw.org/post/fallen-officers-be-honored-city-hall <p>A memorial service will take place in downtown Wichita to honor Sedgwick County law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 11:50:02 +0000 Frank Dudgeon 17390 at http://kmuw.org 900 New Jobs Could Be Coming To Wichita http://kmuw.org/post/900-new-jobs-could-be-coming-wichita <p>A company that operates hotels and resorts around the world says it plans to hire about 180 people later this year for a new customer call center in Wichita.<br><br>Officials of the Kansas Department of Commerce and Starwood Hotels announced plans for the center Thursday.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 11:38:27 +0000 Frank Dudgeon 17389 at http://kmuw.org Ambassador Hotel Hosts Job Fair http://kmuw.org/post/ambassador-hotel-hosts-job-fair <p></p><p>The new Ambassador Hotel in Wichita has up to 100 positions to fill before it opens in December.</p><p class="p1">At a job fair next week, hotel managers will be recruiting for a variety of positions including front desk concierge, bellman, valet, housekeeping, administrative assistant, accounting assistant, sales coordinator and supervisors. The Siena Tuscan Steakhouse will also be hiring a full staff.</p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 18:50:29 +0000 Frank Dudgeon 7938 at http://kmuw.org Ambassador Hotel Hosts Job Fair Kansas Food Bank Receives Walmart Grant http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-food-bank-receives-walmart-grant <p>Through Walmart's Fighting Hunger Together initiative, a Walmart store in Wichita gave a $50,000 grant to help expand the Kansas Food Bank of Wichita's backpack program.</p><p>Debi Kreutzman, community relations manager at Kansas Food Bank, said they were proud of the local community for participating in the effort.</p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 18:53:27 +0000 Frank Dudgeon 7817 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Food Bank Receives Walmart Grant Registration Still Open For Skills Summit http://kmuw.org/post/registration-still-open-skills-summit <p>The Kansas Department of Commerce said Monday registration remains open for the Kansas Skills Summit next Monday in Wichita.</p><p>The event will feature Gov. Sam Brownback and industry and workforce leaders. It will feature presentations and a roundtable discussion on the best ways to recruit and train a skilled workforce.</p><p>The goal of the summit is to develop a system of industry-endorsed, third party credentials that can be used by Kansas businesses to standardize the skills and knowledge workers bring to the labor market.</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 19:57:13 +0000 Frank Dudgeon 7432 at http://kmuw.org 400 New Jobs Coming To Wichita http://kmuw.org/post/400-new-jobs-coming-wichita <p><span style="color: rgb(85, 85, 85); font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', Arial, sans-serif; line-height: 15px; ">A data management company plans to add more than 400 jobs in Wichita over the next five years.</span></p> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 18:04:19 +0000 Frank Dudgeon 4523 at http://kmuw.org Justice Department Opposes Hawker Bonus Plan http://kmuw.org/post/justice-department-opposes-hawker-bonus-plan <p>The Justice Department&rsquo;s bankruptcy watchdog agency opposes a move by Hawker Beechcraft to pay eight senior executives more than $5.3 million in bonuses.</p> Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:29:08 +0000 The Associated Press & Frank Dudgeon 2881 at http://kmuw.org Lawn Watering Ban In East Wichita, Andover http://kmuw.org/post/lawn-watering-ban-east-wichita-andover <p>City of Wichita officials are urging water customers east of Rock Road in Wichita, and in all of Andover, to not water their lawns until Saturday due to a loss of electrical power at a water pump station on Webb Road.</p><p class="p1">The power outage has reduced water pressure in areas east of Rock Road. Westar is working to restore the power to the pump station.</p><p class="p1">The voluntary watering restriction is not requested of customers west of Rock Road, because they are not affected by the power outage.</p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 18:37:10 +0000 Frank Dudgeon 2645 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Republican Party Fined http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-republican-party-fined <p>The Federal Elections Commission has fined the Kansas Republican Party $6,500 for violating campaign finance law.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 18:25:44 +0000 Frank Dudgeon & Associated Press 1900 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Republican Party Fined Hawker Beechcraft In Talks With Potential Buyers http://kmuw.org/post/hawker-beechcraft-talks-potential-buyers <p>&nbsp;</p><p class="p1">Aircraft maker Hawker Beechcraft is narrowing in on potential buyers as part of its plan to emerge from bankruptcy reorganization.&nbsp;</p><p class="p1">The company disclosed in court documents that along with its investment banker, Hawker Beechcraft developed a list of potential buyers and investors over several months ahead of its May 3rd filing for Chapter 11.</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 19:53:38 +0000 Frank Dudgeon & Associated Press 1799 at http://kmuw.org