Sean Sandefur http://kmuw.org en Local Organization Critical Of Proposed Sales Tax http://kmuw.org/post/local-organization-critical-proposed-sales-tax <p class="p1">&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Members of a newly formed organization are criticizing the City of Wichita’s proposed one-cent sales tax, which could appear on ballots this November. Coalition For a Better Wichita spoke out on Wednesday afternoon at Handy Mailing, a local small business.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:25:01 +0000 Sean Sandefur 37944 at http://kmuw.org Local Organization Critical Of Proposed Sales Tax Measles: What To Know During Local Outbreak http://kmuw.org/post/measles-what-know-during-local-outbreak <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has reported 11 cases of measles in </span>Sedgwick<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> County. Outbreaks have been reported in a number of states. According to the Center for Disease Control, the disease has seen very low infection rates since the early 2000’s, but this year, cases have nearly tripled. This has brought the spotlight back onto vaccinations. &nbsp;</span></p><p><strong style="line-height: 1.5;">A Vaccination Clinic</strong></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 17:55:00 +0000 Sean Sandefur & Abigail Wilson 37843 at http://kmuw.org Measles: What To Know During Local Outbreak The Food Deserts Of Wichita http://kmuw.org/post/food-deserts-wichita <p></p><p>Tomorrow marks the final day of business for two Dillons grocery stores in Wichita. According to the company, the stores have been underperforming for a number of years. Their absence could add to a problem that already exists in the city - an increasing number of what are called “food deserts.” Food deserts are low-income neighborhoods which have little access to fresh, affordable food.</p><p></p><p><strong>When Grocers Close, Nutrition Goes With Them</strong></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 16:27:00 +0000 Sean Sandefur 37656 at http://kmuw.org The Food Deserts Of Wichita Brownback, Santorum Greeted By Protesters In Visit To Wichita http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-santorum-greeted-protesters-visit-wichita <p></p><p>The Kansas gubernatorial race is in full swing—incumbent Sam Brownback took his campaign to a movie theater in east Wichita Monday afternoon. Joining him was former presidential hopeful and Republican senator from Pennsylvania, Rick Santorum. Greeting them were teachers protesting an education bill signed into law in April. &nbsp;</p><p></p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 23:56:58 +0000 Sean Sandefur 37466 at http://kmuw.org Brownback, Santorum Greeted By Protesters In Visit To Wichita Concussions Persist From High School To Pros, But More Is Known http://kmuw.org/post/concussions-persist-high-school-pros-more-known <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Next month, middle school and high school students in Wichita will be going back to class…and some will also get back to their favorite sports. A topic often on the minds of parents is concussions, a brain injury that occurs after a severe blow to the head – and from high school teams to the pros, they’re as prevalent as ever.</span></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Sean Sandefur 37288 at http://kmuw.org Concussions Persist From High School To Pros, But More Is Known City Of Wichita To Acquire 10 New Buses http://kmuw.org/post/city-wichita-acquire-10-new-buses <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Wichita City Council members approved the purchase of new city buses at Tuesday’s meeting. They will help update the transit system’s aging fleet.&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A total of ten new buses will be coming from a California-based manufacturer. They will all be diesel powered.&nbsp;</span></p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 21:27:02 +0000 Sean Sandefur 37152 at http://kmuw.org City Of Wichita To Acquire 10 New Buses City Of Wichita To Close Facilities, Services For Independence Day http://kmuw.org/post/city-wichita-close-facilities-services-independence-day <p class="p1">&nbsp;</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 19:59:12 +0000 Sean Sandefur 36921 at http://kmuw.org City Of Wichita To Close Facilities, Services For Independence Day Second Source Found In West Wichita Chemical Contamination http://kmuw.org/post/second-source-found-west-wichita-chemical-contamination <p></p><p>The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has identified an additional source for chemical contamination in West Wichita. According to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, a second dry cleaner has been found to be a contributor to the chemical plume.</p><p></p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:28:54 +0000 Sean Sandefur 36878 at http://kmuw.org Second Source Found In West Wichita Chemical Contamination June's Heavy Rainfall Both Helps And Hurts Kansas Crops http://kmuw.org/post/junes-heavy-rainfall-both-helps-and-hurts-kansas-crops <p></p><p>Heavy rainfall has finally come to many parts of Kansas. For some crops, it’s provided a needed boost, but for others, it’s too much and too late.</p><p></p><p>An average of 7.2 inches of rain fell over Kansas in June - 78 percent higher than normal for the month. According to Mary Knapp, a climatologist at Kansas State University, that could help save some harvests.</p><p>“Basically we've gotten a reprieve, particularly for spring planted crops. That would be corn, beans and sorghum, in particular,” she says.</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 22:09:03 +0000 Sean Sandefur 36814 at http://kmuw.org June's Heavy Rainfall Both Helps And Hurts Kansas Crops Paula Poundstone Brings Years Of Improv And Standup Comedy To Wichita http://kmuw.org/post/paula-poundstone-brings-years-improv-and-standup-comedy-wichita <p></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Sean Sandefur 36636 at http://kmuw.org Paula Poundstone Brings Years Of Improv And Standup Comedy To Wichita