Geoff Brumfiel http://kmuw.org en What Brought Down The Malaysian Airliner? http://kmuw.org/post/what-brought-down-malaysian-airliner Shortly after news broke that a Malaysia Airlines flight crashed in eastern Ukraine, suspicions began to swirl that the plane had been shot down. NPR's Geoff Brumfiel speaks with Audie Cornish about the feasibility that a missile brought down the airliner. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:53:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 37639 at http://kmuw.org Physicists Crush Diamonds With Giant Laser http://kmuw.org/post/physicists-crush-diamonds-giant-laser Physicists have used the world's most powerful laser to zap diamonds. The results, they say, could tell us more about the cores of giant planets.<p>"Diamonds have very special properties, besides being very expensive and used for jewelrey etc.," says <a href="https://www-pls.llnl.gov/?url=about_pls-scientific_staff-smith_r">Raymond Smith</a>, a researcher at <a href="https://www.llnl.gov/">Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory</a> in California. "It's the hardest substance known to man."<p>And diamonds aren't just here on Earth. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 07:34:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 37589 at http://kmuw.org Physicists Crush Diamonds With Giant Laser In A Lab Store Room, An Unsettling Surprise: Lost Vials Of Smallpox http://kmuw.org/post/lab-fridge-unsettling-surprise-lost-vials-smallpox Scientists at the National Institutes of Health made an unpleasant discovery last week as they cleaned out an old laboratory: The lab contained vials of the smallpox virus, previously unknown to authorities. The vials have since been transferred to a secure lab at the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 37147 at http://kmuw.org Carbon Observatory To Monitor Greenhouse Gas From Space http://kmuw.org/post/carbon-observatory-monitor-greenhouse-gas-space NASA is preparing to launch a new satellite to observe carbon dioxide from space. The satellite could revolutionize our understanding of where this greenhouse gas comes from and where it goes. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 36768 at http://kmuw.org Carbon-Sensing Satellite Prepares For Second Launch http://kmuw.org/post/carbon-sensing-satellite-prepares-second-launch NASA is preparing to launch a satellite capable of monitoring carbon dioxide emissions from space. The <a href="http://oco.jpl.nasa.gov/">Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2</a> (OCO-2) will be the first U.S. spacecraft dedicated to seeing the greenhouse gas from orbit, and could pave the way for new technology to enforce future global warming treaties.<p>But first OCO-2 needs to make it off the ground. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:17:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 36747 at http://kmuw.org Carbon-Sensing Satellite Prepares For Second Launch World's Chemical Weapons Watchdog Clears Syria http://kmuw.org/post/worlds-chemical-weapons-watchdog-clears-syria Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Syria has handed over the last of its declared chemical weapons. That's according to the world's chemical weapons watchdog. The move is a key step in a deal negotiated last fall, after the U.S. had threatened to conduct airstrikes against Syria. But many questions remain about Syria's use of chemical weapons and whether remnants of its chemical stockpile remain. Joining me to discuss all this is NPR's Geoff Brumfiel. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 36388 at http://kmuw.org Dust Clouds Big Bang Signal http://kmuw.org/post/dust-clouds-big-bang-signal In March, a team of physicists announced <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/17/290866227/scientists-announce-a-big-bang-breakthrough">it had found a signal from the very first moments after the Big Bang</a>. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 36280 at http://kmuw.org Dust Clouds Big Bang Signal Scientists Keep A Careful Eye On The World Cup Ball http://kmuw.org/post/scientists-keep-careful-eye-world-cup-ball <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PH7cbLfxmbM</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 07:38:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 36235 at http://kmuw.org Scientists Keep A Careful Eye On The World Cup Ball Bye-Bye To The Home Of A Favorite Internet Conspiracy Theory http://kmuw.org/post/bye-bye-home-favorite-internet-conspiracy-theory It sure <em>looks</em> suspicious: a remote military compound in the south-central Alaskan wilderness filled with 180 weird-looking antennas.<p>It's the home of the <a href="http://www.nrl.navy.mil/research/nrl-review/2004/atmospheric-science-and-technology/kennedy/">High Frequency Active Auroral Research Program</a> (HAARP). Conspiracy theorists have accused the program of doing everything from mind control to global communications jamming.<p>Now HAARP's many conspiracies, along with its legitimate research, may finally be at an end. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 35734 at http://kmuw.org Bye-Bye To The Home Of A Favorite Internet Conspiracy Theory SpaceX Unveils A Sleek New Ride To Orbit http://kmuw.org/post/spacex-unveils-sleek-new-ride-orbit <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cf_-g3UWQ04</p> Fri, 30 May 2014 20:38:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 35255 at http://kmuw.org SpaceX Unveils A Sleek New Ride To Orbit