Kansas Government http://kmuw.org en Brownback Names Secretary Of Administration http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-names-secretary-administration <p></p><p>Gov. Sam Brownback has appointed a former utility executive to be the new secretary of the Department of Administration. Mon, 15 Jul 2013 23:01:08 +0000 Associated Press 20440 at http://kmuw.org Realtors Rally To Save Income Tax Breaks For Kansas Homeowners http://kmuw.org/post/realtors-rally-save-income-tax-breaks-kansas-homeowners <p>More than 200 real estate agents rallied in Topeka Wednesday morning to ask lawmakers to preserve two different income tax breaks for homeowners.</p><p>The Kansas Association of Realtors gathered at the Statehouse before sending members to meet with state legislators.</p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 18:23:39 +0000 Kate Clause 12682 at http://kmuw.org Should KS Drop Antique Guns From State Definition of 'Firearms?' http://kmuw.org/post/should-ks-drop-antique-guns-state-definition-firearms <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Not everyone's happy with a proposal to drop antique&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">guns from the definition of firearms, as part of a bill to change Kansas'&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">firearms regulations.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Assistant attorney general C.W. Klebe discussed the proposed&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">changes Wednesday before a Senate committee.</span></p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 19:25:10 +0000 Associated Press 11661 at http://kmuw.org Governor Proclaims Wednesday "Armed Forces Appreciation Day" in KS http://kmuw.org/post/governor-proclaims-wednesday-armed-forces-appreciation-day-ks <p>Gov. &nbsp;Sam Brownback has proclaimed Wednesday "Armed Forces Appreciation Day" in Kansas.</p><p>The g<span style="line-height: 1.5;">overnor </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">says it's "a chance to show our deep gratitude for their service and sacrifice--and the sacrifice made by their families. Today we pledge our support for them in peace, in crisis, and in war."&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 19:48:39 +0000 Kate Clause 11608 at http://kmuw.org KS Governor and AG Propose Human Trafficking Bill http://kmuw.org/post/ks-governor-and-ag-propose-human-trafficking-bill <p>Gov. Sam Brownback and Attorney General Derek Schmidt have proposed a bill that would strengthen the state's human trafficking statues, with an emphasis on protecting children from sexual exploitation.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 19:01:31 +0000 Kate Clause 11396 at http://kmuw.org Gov. Brownback Wants To Use Highway Dollars For School Busing http://kmuw.org/post/gov-brownback-wants-use-highway-dollars-school-busing <p>Gov. Sam &nbsp;Brownback would like to use some the state's highway dollars to help cover the cost of bussing children to and from public schools.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Brownback proposed Wednesday that the state divert $193 million normally set aside for highway projects to school transportation programs during the next two fiscal years. The diversion would be almost $97 million each year. </span></p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 19:19:11 +0000 Associated Press & Associated Press 11348 at http://kmuw.org Gov. Brownback Outlines New Education Budget Proposals http://kmuw.org/post/gov-brownback-outlines-new-education-budget-proposals <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Gov. Sam Brownback's new budget proposals would phase in a $76 million&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">increase in aid to public schools over two years. &nbsp;He would</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;would also use $77 million in revenue from&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">state-owned casinos to help fund teacher pensions.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 18:36:29 +0000 Associated Press 11286 at http://kmuw.org Legislators May Consider Changing Corporate Farming Rules http://kmuw.org/post/legislators-may-consider-changing-corporate-farming-rules <div>Gov. Sam Brownback's administration may ask state legislators to&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">repeal laws that restrict corporate involvement in farming.&nbsp;</span></div><div>&nbsp;</div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State Agriculture Secretary Dale </span>Rodman<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> told freshmen legislators Tuesday that the state's anti-corporate farming laws need to be repealed. He added later that the state can't expand agriculture as much as it could because of those restrictions.&nbsp;</span></p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 19:02:30 +0000 Kate Clause & Associated Press 11227 at http://kmuw.org