Department of Corrections http://kmuw.org en House Passes 2015 Prisons Budget http://kmuw.org/post/house-passes-2015-prisons-budget <p>The Kansas House has approved the 2015 budget for the Department of Corrections, authorizing more than $390 million for state prisons and programs.</p><p>The bill passed 79-41 on Thursday, sending the measure to the Senate and restoring the funding that was vetoed last year by Gov. Sam Brownback.</p><p>The spending covers the fiscal year beginning July 1 and includes funding for additional corrections officers and increased health care costs.</p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 23:39:30 +0000 Associated Press 30235 at http://kmuw.org Corrections Tightening Security At Topeka Juvenile Complex http://kmuw.org/post/corrections-tightening-security-topeka-juvenile-complex <p></p><p>The Kansas Department of Corrections has announced plans to improve security at Topeka&#39;s juvenile detention facility. Thu, 03 Oct 2013 23:50:59 +0000 Associated Press 24371 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Using Facebook To Nab Parole Absconders http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-using-facebook-nab-parole-absconders <p>Kansas prison officials are turning to Facebook to help find people who skip out on court-mandated parole.<br><br>Each Monday, the <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kansas-Department-of-Corrections/359558630762166?fref=ts">Department of Corrections will post information</a> about an offender who has failed to maintain contact with his or her parole officer. Such individuals are termed absconders and have warrants issued for their arrests.<br> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 12:25:28 +0000 Associated Press 23940 at http://kmuw.org Recent Changes Could Reduce Kansas Prison Population http://kmuw.org/post/recent-changes-could-reduce-kansas-prison-population <p>Recent changes in the way convicted offenders are supervised after their release could help control Kansas' prison population.</p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 12:25:50 +0000 Associated Press 23319 at http://kmuw.org 19 Kansas Murderers Paroled In Last 3 Years http://kmuw.org/post/19-kansas-murderers-paroled-last-3-years <p>A review of state Department of Corrections records found that within the past three years 19 Kansas inmates serving life sentences for first-degree murder have been released on parole.</p><p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 12:13:21 +0000 Associated Press 12515 at http://kmuw.org Committee Backs Gov's Reorganization Of Juvenile Justice Authority http://kmuw.org/post/committee-backs-govs-reorganization-juvenile-justice-authority <p>A House committee has endorsed Gov. Sam Brownback's proposal to reorganize the state's juvenile corrections system.</p><p>Brownback signed an order last month to move the Juvenile Justice Authority inside the Department of Corrections. The JJA is currently an independent agency.</p><p>Supporters of the reorganization point to legislative audits that showed repeated safety and security problems in a facility run by the JJA.</p><p>Representative John Rubin, a Republican from Shawnee, says the move is needed to improve the agency.</p> Thu, 07 Feb 2013 11:48:03 +0000 Stephen Koranda 12349 at http://kmuw.org