Kansas storms http://kmuw.org en Reno County Warns People To Stay Out Of Water http://kmuw.org/post/reno-county-warns-people-stay-out-water <p></p><p>A central Kansas county is cracking down on people who place themselves in danger in rain-swollen rivers and creeks. Wed, 07 Aug 2013 22:33:07 +0000 Associated Press 21601 at http://kmuw.org You're On Your Own To Clean Up After Thursday's Storm http://kmuw.org/post/youre-your-own-clean-after-thursdays-storm <p>Crews from the city of Wichita are currently clearing tree limbs and debris that fell into streets and onto public property during the Thursday night wind storm.<br><br>However, they will not pick up debris from private property owners. Instead they are encouraging homeowners to work with their trash haulers to remove debris or take it to one of four Wichita locations for a fee.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 15:10:10 +0000 Chandra Stauffer 19581 at http://kmuw.org You're On Your Own To Clean Up After Thursday's Storm Emergency Responders Want Storm Chasing Rules http://kmuw.org/post/emergency-responders-want-storm-chasing-rules <p>The head of a group that represents Kansas emergency responders says it's time to consider rules for storm chasers.<br><br>Brian Stone is president of the Kansas Emergency Management Association. He says there should be rules to determine who can chase storms and to ensure they know what they're doing.</p><p>However, Stone concedes that he's not sure whether law officers could enforce such rules.<br><br>Three professional chasers in Oklahoma were killed Friday when a tornado turned on them in Reno, Okla.</p> Tue, 04 Jun 2013 11:25:39 +0000 Associated Press 18281 at http://kmuw.org 4 Tornadoes Hit Northeast Kansas Monday Night http://kmuw.org/post/4-tornadoes-hit-northeast-kansas-monday-night <p>At least four tornadoes hit different counties in northeast Kansas Monday night, but there were no fatalities or serious injuries, according to preliminary reports from emergency management officials.</p><p>The most significant damage was reported in and around Marysville,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">which is about 150 miles northwest of Kansas City near the Nebraska border. A</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;tornado touched down about 9:50 p.m., said Bill </span>Schwindamann<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Marshall County emergency management director.</span></p> Tue, 28 May 2013 13:50:08 +0000 Associated Press 17895 at http://kmuw.org Weekend Tornado In Western Kansas Was An EF4 http://kmuw.org/post/weekend-tornado-western-kansas-was-ef4 <p>The National Weather Service says a tornado that traveled seven miles across rural western Kansas during the weekend was an EF4, with winds of 165 to 185 miles per hour.<br><br>The report from the agency's Dodge City office follows a survey of the tornado's path Saturday night in Pawnee County.<br><br>An EF4 is the second-strongest on the scale used to measure the strength of tornadoes.<br> Thu, 23 May 2013 11:34:26 +0000 Associated Press 17678 at http://kmuw.org Storm Debris? City Says You're On Your Own http://kmuw.org/post/storm-debris-city-says-youre-your-own <p>The city of Wichita is not planning to collect fallen limbs or other messes from this weekend’s storm.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In a release Monday, the city said property owners are responsible for disposing of debris, none of which should be placed at the curb unless arrangements with a private hauler have been made.</span></p><p>Four Wichita locations are accepting storm debris for a fee:&nbsp;</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 16:10:19 +0000 Chandra Stauffer 17505 at http://kmuw.org KDOT Dropped 1.2 Million Gallons Of Brine During Historic Snowstorm http://kmuw.org/post/kdot-dropped-12-million-gallons-brine-during-historic-snowstorm <p>During last month’s back-to-back snow storms, the Kansas Department of Transportation reports their snow crews pretreated and plowed nearly 880,000 miles of highway – enough to circle the earth 35 times.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">BY THE NUMBERS</span><br><br>Winter Storms Q and Rocky (weeks of Feb. 18 and 25)</p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 21:30:22 +0000 Chandra Stauffer 13769 at http://kmuw.org KDOT Dropped 1.2 Million Gallons Of Brine During Historic Snowstorm National Weather Service Is Looking For Storm Spotters http://kmuw.org/post/national-weather-service-looking-storm-spotters <p>As part of Severe Weather Awareness Week for the state of Kansas, the National Weather Service is offering a storm spotter training class Tuesday night in Wichita.<br><br>Spring is the most active tornado season in Kansas.</p> Tue, 05 Mar 2013 18:15:48 +0000 Milt Radford 13675 at http://kmuw.org National Weather Service Is Looking For Storm Spotters Top Morning News 2.28.13 http://kmuw.org/post/top-morning-news-22813 <p><em>Bill would require drug testing for welfare recipients; Company beats out Beechcraft for plane contract; Gov. Brownback praises officials for storm response.</em></p><p><strong>Drug Testing Bill Advances In Kansas Senate</strong></p><p>The Kansas Senate has tentatively approved legislation requiring drug tests for some people seeking welfare benefits. It was approved after Senators amended it to require the same scrutiny of legislators.</p><p><a href="http://kmuw.org/post/drug-testing-bill-advances-kansas-senate"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">More...</span></a></p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 11:39:53 +0000 Briana O’Higgins & Kate Clause 13416 at http://kmuw.org Top Morning News 2.28.13 Brownback Praises State Officials For Storm Response http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-praises-state-officials-storm-response <p>Gov. Sam Brownback is praising state emergency, law enforcement and highway officials for their "all hands on deck" response to the recent snow storms. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 23:02:45 +0000 Jim McLean 13404 at http://kmuw.org