Kansas State University http://kmuw.org en Construction For KSU's Bulks Solids Innovation Center Begins http://kmuw.org/post/construction-ksus-bulks-solids-innovation-center-begins <p>Construction is underway in Salina on a new research center devoted to the science of moving and mixing bulk solids such as pellets, granules, powder and grain.</p><p>The Kansas State University Bulk Solids Innovation Center will be among only a few in the world. It’s a partnership of the city, the university and two Salina-based companies that design and make equipment for handling bulk materials.</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 16:05:19 +0000 Associated Press 37425 at http://kmuw.org KSU Patents Substance That Converts Straw Into Cleaner-Burning Fuel http://kmuw.org/post/ksu-patents-substance-converts-straw-cleaner-burning-fuel <p>Kansas State University has received a patent for a substance that helps convert straw and other grasses into a cleaner-burning fuel.</p><p>The patent was issued to the university's research foundation.</p><p>Kansas State says two former faculty members developed a substance that can be used in the production of syn-gas.</p><p>Syn-gas can be burned for energy and used to generate electricity.</p><p>However, converting biomass to syn-gas creates tar.</p><p>Research foundation vice president Marcia Molina says the newly developed substance is more effective at removing that tar.</p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 15:51:58 +0000 Associated Press 29026 at http://kmuw.org KSU Helps Develop Self-Sustaining Spacesuits http://kmuw.org/post/ksu-helps-develop-self-sustaining-spacesuits <p>Kansas State University researchers are working on a spacesuit that could monitor astronauts' health and use body heat to power electronics.</p><p>A team of students and professors are working with a model space suit.</p><p>It's made of several layers of material, including metalized fabrics, to model the layers in suits that protect astronauts and keep them warm.</p><p>University researchers say batteries are too dangerous to place in a spacesuit's oxygen-rich environment, so the team is developing new energy harvesting methods to gather energy.</p> Mon, 02 Dec 2013 14:35:12 +0000 Associated Press 27037 at http://kmuw.org Study: Working Overtime Could Harm Your Well-Being http://kmuw.org/post/study-working-overtime-could-harm-your-well-being <p>A Kansas State University researcher says working overtime may cost people their health.</p> Mon, 02 Sep 2013 12:29:13 +0000 Associated Press 22812 at http://kmuw.org Senate Subcommittee Approves NBAF Funds http://kmuw.org/post/senate-subcommittee-approves-nbaf-funds <p></p><p>A U.S. Senate subcommittee on Tuesday approved $404 million in federal spending for the construction of a federal research laboratory at Kansas State University. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 22:57:05 +0000 Associated Press 20499 at http://kmuw.org Will A College Education In Kansas Cost More This Fall? http://kmuw.org/post/will-college-education-kansas-cost-more-fall <p>Some public university students in Kansas could see their tuition jump by almost 9 percent this fall.<br><br>The state board of regents expect to vote Wednesday afternoon on new tuition rates proposed by the universities.<br><br>The tuition hike would partially offset state funding cuts legislators made this year, while allowing for faculty salary increases.<br><br>The changes would raise an additional $34 million dollars over the next fiscal year.<br> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 11:22:37 +0000 Associated Press 19113 at http://kmuw.org Sierra Club Irked At Ozone Monitor Shutdown http://kmuw.org/post/sierra-club-irked-ozone-monitor-shutdown <p>The Kansas Chapter of the Sierra Club says it's a mistake for the EPA to stop monitoring ozone pollution on the Konza Prairie, near Manhattan. Ozone concentrations there have been consistently higher than the level allowed under federal air quality standards.<br><br>The monitor four miles south of Manhattan has been collecting data since 2002. The EPA says their monitors operate at the discretion of the landowner.</p> Thu, 18 Apr 2013 11:18:10 +0000 Bryan Thompson 15849 at http://kmuw.org Sierra Club Irked At Ozone Monitor Shutdown KDA Move Suggested By K-State http://kmuw.org/post/kda-move-suggested-k-state <p>The Kansas Department of Agriculture announced last week that it would move its offices from Topeka to Manhattan. Secretary of Agriculture Dale Rodman said officials at the Kansas State University Foundation made the suggestion. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 20:54:14 +0000 Stephen Koranda 15359 at http://kmuw.org