Kansas budget http://kmuw.org en Kansas Lawmakers Prepare For 2015 Fiscal Forecast http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-lawmakers-prepare-2015-fiscal-forecast <p>Kansas officials are preparing a new fiscal forecast to guide Governor Brownback and lawmakers in making budget decisions.</p><p>The forecasters include legislative researchers, members of Brownback’s budget stuff, Department of Revenue officials, and university economists.</p><p>They’re meeting this afternoon to revise earlier revenue projections for the current fiscal year and for the fiscal year beginning in July.</p><p>Since July 2013, the state has collected $141 million dollars more than anticipated.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:48:24 +0000 Associated Press 33145 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Officials And Economists Meet To Determine Revenue Projections For 2015 http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-officials-and-economists-meet-determine-revenue-projections-2015 <p>Kansas officials and economists will gather next week to study revenue projections for the coming year.</p><p>They hope to find out if the state economy is growing and if tax receipts will keep government afloat.</p><p>Legislative leaders on gave differing views yesterday of what the projections for what the next fiscal year will look like, but agreed that the state faces challenges.</p><p>Tax collections through March were $130 million dollars above the forecasters’ November estimate.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:43:01 +0000 Associated Press 32875 at http://kmuw.org House Committee Votes To Cut Court Reporter Jobs http://kmuw.org/post/house-committee-votes-cut-court-reporter-jobs <p>The budget-writing committee in the Kansas House has voted to cut 18 court reporter positions in the judicial branch and eliminate 13 additional unfilled positions.</p><p>Representative Pete DeGraaf, a Mulvane Republican, says this would help prompt the judicial branch to find cost savings. He says there's institutional resistance to change.</p><p>“Most of them know that this is inevitable and actually best and it’s efficient and probably the thing that needs to happen," DeGraaf says. "But who wants to be the first one to suggest it?”</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:44:59 +0000 Stephen Koranda 31341 at http://kmuw.org House Passes 2015 Prisons Budget http://kmuw.org/post/house-passes-2015-prisons-budget <p>The Kansas House has approved the 2015 budget for the Department of Corrections, authorizing more than $390 million for state prisons and programs.</p><p>The bill passed 79-41 on Thursday, sending the measure to the Senate and restoring the funding that was vetoed last year by Gov. Sam Brownback.</p><p>The spending covers the fiscal year beginning July 1 and includes funding for additional corrections officers and increased health care costs.</p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 23:39:30 +0000 Associated Press 30235 at http://kmuw.org Committee Puts State Worker Raises on Hold http://kmuw.org/post/committee-puts-state-worker-raises-hold <p>Governor Sam Brownback's budget proposal includes a 1.5 percent raise for classified state employees.</p><p>But Monday, a Senate committee cut that raise out of its version of the budget, at least temporarily. Senator Jim Denning, an Overland Park Republican, said the pay raise would affect more employees than originally thought.</p><p>“We weren’t fully aware that it would touch some judges, classified employees, it touches the Legislature. So we’re just trying to get our arms around it and then look at it globally,” Denning said.</p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 21:23:41 +0000 Stephen Koranda 30066 at http://kmuw.org Education Lawsuit Could Prompt Budget Rewrite http://kmuw.org/post/education-lawsuit-could-prompt-budget-rewrite <p>Legislators return to the Kansas Statehouse Monday to kick off the 2014 legislative session. Mon, 13 Jan 2014 14:29:20 +0000 Stephen Koranda 28827 at http://kmuw.org Regents Request Budget Restoration http://kmuw.org/post/regents-request-budget-restoration <p>The Kansas Board of Regents has asked the governor to restore tens of millions of dollars in higher education spending that was cut this spring. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 22:23:24 +0000 Associated Press 23702 at http://kmuw.org Brownback Moves To Shrink Waiting Lists For Disabled http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-moves-shrink-waiting-lists-disabled <p></p><p>Gov. Sam Brownback says the state will move more quickly than expected to shrink waiting lists for disabled residents who are seeking in-home services. Wed, 11 Sep 2013 22:42:19 +0000 Associated Press 23301 at http://kmuw.org Brownback Signs 2-Year Budget http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-signs-2-year-budget <p>Republican Gov. Sam Brownback on Saturday showed his frustration with part of the state budget passed by the GOP-dominated Kansas Legislature by vetoing the entire Department of Corrections allotment for fiscal year 2015.<br><br>Brownback signed the bill containing a budget of more than $14 billion for each of the next two fiscal years, starting in July.<br><br>Although the governor used his power to veto multiple line items, most of the decisions made by lawmakers about spending will take effect.<br> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 13:39:53 +0000 Associated Press 18993 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Attorney General To Governor: Don't Cut My Budget http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-attorney-general-governor-dont-cut-my-budget <p>Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt is urging Gov. Sam Brownback to veto provisions in the proposed state budget.</p><p>Schmidt says he and county prosecutors object to two provisions that would take funds from his agency. One is a provision that diverts $600,000 in fees from applications for concealed carry permits. Schmidt says the&nbsp; money shouldn't be used for general government programs.</p><p>He also opposes a salary cap for state agencies.</p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 11:18:27 +0000 Associated Press 18851 at http://kmuw.org