voting laws http://kmuw.org en ACLU And Kobach Head To Court Over Voter Citizenship Law http://kmuw.org/post/aclu-and-kobach-head-court-over-voter-citizenship-law <p>The American Civil Liberties Union and Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach are heading to court again in their battle over Kobach’s attempts to enforce a proof-of-citizenship requirement for new voters.</p><p>The ACLU hopes a Shawnee County judge will use Friday’s hearing to review its request for a temporary injunction to keep Kobach from imposing a new policy for the state’s Aug. 5 primary elections.</p><p>Kobach has said that Kansas residents who register with a national form will be allowed to complete full ballots, but only their votes in congressional races will be counted.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:22:46 +0000 Associated Press 37314 at http://kmuw.org Gov. Brownback To Decide Fate Of Voter Affiliation Bill http://kmuw.org/post/gov-brownback-decide-fate-voter-affiliation-bill <p>Gov. Sam Brownback has until March 31 to decide the fate of the Kansas GOP's plan to make it harder for voters to switch parties before primary elections.</p><p>The Legislature delivered a bill containing the plan to Brownback on Friday. He has 10 days under the state Constitution to sign the measure, to veto it or let it become law without his signature.</p><p>The bill prohibits voters registered with a political party from switching their affiliation between the June 1 candidate filing deadline until after results from the August party primaries are certified.</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 16:11:06 +0000 Associated Press 31926 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Voter Registrations Can Be On Hold For Years http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-voter-registrations-can-be-hold-years <p></p><p>As Kansas election officials deal with prospective voters who've not yet complied with a proof-of-citizenship law, hundreds of registrations have remained on hold for more than a year for other reasons. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 22:44:39 +0000 Associated Press 23859 at http://kmuw.org Problems Linger With Voter Citizenship Law http://kmuw.org/post/problems-linger-voter-citizenship-law <p></p><p>Kansas lawmakers have learned that administrative issues are likely to linger from a state law requiring new voters to provide proof of their U.S. citizenship. Mon, 09 Sep 2013 22:51:32 +0000 Associated Press 23178 at http://kmuw.org Kris Kobach and Arizona Secretary of State Sue Federal Election Commission http://kmuw.org/post/kris-kobach-and-arizona-secretary-state-sue-federal-election-commission <p>Kansas and Arizona officials have filed a federal lawsuit to try require voter applicants to show proof of citizenship.</p><p>Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach and Arizona Secretary of State Ken Bennett filed the lawsuit today in federal court in Topeka.</p><p>The suit seeks to change federal voter registration forms to require documents proving citizenship. Currently, the forms require that an applicant make an oath affirming citizenship.</p> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 19:52:53 +0000 Kate Clause & Associated Press 22270 at http://kmuw.org Kris Kobach and Arizona Secretary of State Sue Federal Election Commission ACLU Ready to File Lawsuit Over Kansas Voter Registration Law http://kmuw.org/post/aclu-ready-file-lawsuit-over-kansas-voter-registration-law <p>The American Civil Liberties Union said in a letter that it's ready to go to court over a voter registration law in Kansas. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 21:12:31 +0000 Stephen Koranda 21884 at http://kmuw.org Kobach Considering Rule to Create Two Classes of Voters http://kmuw.org/post/kobach-considering-rule-create-two-classes-voters <p></p><p>Voter registration applications for more than 12,000 people in Kansas are on hold because of missing documents that could prove U.S. citizenship. A law that took effect this year requires people who register to vote for the first time in Kansas to prove their citizenship.</p><p>Secretary of State Kris Kobach says he's considering a rule that could allow those voters to cast ballots in certain elections.</p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 21:44:33 +0000 Stephen Koranda 21318 at http://kmuw.org Board Rejects Change To Voter Registration Citizenship Rules http://kmuw.org/post/board-rejects-change-voter-registration-citizenship-rules <p>A state board Tuesday rejected a proposed change to a law requiring Kansans to present proof of citizenship when registering to vote for the first time. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 21:42:03 +0000 Stephen Koranda 20496 at http://kmuw.org