Caleb Stegall http://kmuw.org en Caleb Stegall Being Sworn Into The Kansas Court Of Appeals http://kmuw.org/post/caleb-stegall-being-sworn-kansas-court-appeals <p>Governor Brownback's former chief legal counsel is set to take a seat on the Kansas Court of Appeals.</p><p>A swearing-in ceremony for Caleb Stegall is scheduled for Friday, with Court of Appeals Chief Judge Tom Malone presiding.</p><p>Stegall is filling a new, 14th seat on the state's second-highest court.</p><p>Stegall's appointment by the Republican governor has received quite a bit of attention.</p><p>It's because he's the first Court of Appeals appointment under a new law that took effect in July.</p><p>And partly because of his position as Brownback's chief lawyer.</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 15:12:09 +0000 Associated Press 28439 at http://kmuw.org Gov.'s Office Denies Intentional Swearing In Delay http://kmuw.org/post/govs-office-denies-intentional-swearing-delay <p>Gov. Sam Brownback's chief spokesperson, Eileen Hawley, denied Tuesday&nbsp;<a href="http://kmuw.org/post/hensley-appeals-swearing-timed-avoid-vote">the suggestion by Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley</a> that the swearing in of Brownback's chief counsel to the Court of Appeals is being delayed for political reasons.<br><br>Hensley questioned having Caleb Stegall take his seat on the Court of Appeals on January 3. The Senate confirmed Stegall's appointment September 4.<br> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 12:17:47 +0000 Associated Press 23939 at http://kmuw.org Hensley: Appeals Swearing In Timed To Avoid Vote http://kmuw.org/post/hensley-appeals-swearing-timed-avoid-vote <p>The Kansas Senate's top Democrat says he worries the swearing in of Gov. Sam Brownback's chief counsel as a state appeals judge is being deliberately delayed until next year.<br><br>Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley is concerned the delay is to prevent a November 2014 vote on whether appointee Caleb Stegall stays on the bench.<br><br>The GOP-dominated Senate confirmed Stegall's appointment September 4. Stegall isn't being sworn in until January 3.<br> Tue, 24 Sep 2013 12:07:43 +0000 Associated Press 23880 at http://kmuw.org Stegall: Kansans Value Loyalty To State http://kmuw.org/post/stegall-kansans-value-loyalty-state <p>Newly confirmed Kansas Court of Appeals Judge Caleb Stegall says the state's residents want their public servants to show more loyalty to the state and their neighbors than to a particular political party.<br><br>Stegall added that loyalty to what he called "our mutual home" and to the common good will continue to drive him as he serves on the state's second-highest court.<br><br>The Kansas Senate confirmed Stegall Wednesday on a 32-8 vote, which was along party lines. Stegall had been serving as Gov.&nbsp;Brownback's chief council before the governor nominated him for the position.<br> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 12:43:07 +0000 Associated Press 22976 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Senate Confirms Stegall Nomination http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-senate-confirms-stegall-nomination <p>The Kansas Senate has confirmed the nomination of Caleb Stegall to the Kansas Court of Appeals. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 22:10:06 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22953 at http://kmuw.org Hearings On Court of Appeals Nominee To Begin http://kmuw.org/post/hearings-court-appeals-nominee-begin <p>Kansas Senate hearings begin Tuesday on Gov. Sam Brownback's nominee for the state Court of Appeals. Mon, 02 Sep 2013 20:45:34 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22822 at http://kmuw.org Committee Seeking Testimony On Court Nominee http://kmuw.org/post/committee-seeking-testimony-court-nominee <p>A Kansas Senate committee will hold a hearing next week to consider Gov. Sam Brownback's choice to fill an open court seat. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 20:41:02 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22683 at http://kmuw.org Top Dem, Kan. Gov.'s Staff Spar Over Court Choice http://kmuw.org/post/top-dem-kan-govs-staff-spar-over-court-choice <p>Kansas Court of Appeals nominee Caleb Stegall has submitted more than 300 pages of documents to the Senate Judiciary Committee that will review his appointment by Gov. Sam Brownback.<br><br>Stegall currently serves as Brownback's chief counsel.<br><br>He also submitted dozens of pages of magazine articles and online columns he has written, including book reviews and commentaries that hint at his conservative politics.<br><br>Brownback nominated Stegall last week to fill a new seat on the state's second-highest court; his appointment is subject to confirmation by the state Senate.<br> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 12:22:00 +0000 Associated Press 22642 at http://kmuw.org Group Using Open Records Act To Hunt Names Of Judicial Candidates http://kmuw.org/post/group-using-open-records-act-hunt-names-judicial-candidates <p>The head of the League of Women Voters of Kansas is hoping that seeing the governor's schedule could reveal the names of candidates for an open court seat. The league has filed an open records request for the calendars of Gov. Sam Brownback and some of his staff.</p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 13:47:11 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22367 at http://kmuw.org Governor Chooses His Chief Counsel for Appeals Court Seat http://kmuw.org/post/governor-chooses-his-chief-counsel-appeals-court-seat <p>Gov. Sam Brownback has selected his office's top attorney, Caleb Stegall, as the nominee for an open seat on the Kansas Court of Appeals. Brownback calls him the most qualified candidate for the job.<br><br>“His depth of knowledge across the broad spectrum of legal topics continues to impress me and others around this building. I’ve never known an attorney who can provide such excellent counsel on so many topics," said Brownback.<br><br>But the top Democrat in the House, Paul Davis from Lawrence, says the selection means that Brownback picked a friend for the job.</p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 18:39:28 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22201 at http://kmuw.org Governor Chooses His Chief Counsel for Appeals Court Seat