taxes http://kmuw.org en Chamber Of Commerce Wants To Preserve State Tax Cuts http://kmuw.org/post/chamber-commerce-wants-preserve-state-tax-cuts <p>The Kansas Chamber of Commerce says that in the 2014 legislative session, it will push to protect recently-enacted tax cuts.</p><p>The organization released a survey Tuesday of businesses in the state, showing that 57 percent of businesses say the taxes they pay are too high.</p><p>Former Kansas House Speaker Mike O'Neal is the president and CEO of the Kansas Chamber. He says some businesses may not have felt the impact of recent tax cuts yet.</p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 21:45:53 +0000 Stephen Koranda 28610 at http://kmuw.org Gay Couples Sue to Overturn Kansas Tax Filing Policy http://kmuw.org/post/gay-couples-sue-overturn-kansas-tax-filing-policy <p>Legally married same-sex couples are suing the Kansas Department of Revenue over a policy that says they must file separate state tax returns. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 21:01:55 +0000 Stephen Koranda 28330 at http://kmuw.org State Tax Revenues Miss Expectations In October http://kmuw.org/post/state-tax-revenues-miss-expectations-october <p>The Kansas Department of Revenue says the state collected nearly $18 million less in taxes than anticipated in October. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:49:16 +0000 Associated Press 25661 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Tax Changes Leave Fewer Dollars For Services http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-tax-changes-leave-fewer-dollars-services <p>City and county leaders met Thursday at KU for a panel that focused on the effects of recent changes to state tax policy.<br /><br />Kansas has cut individual income tax rates and eliminated taxes for nearly 200,000 businesses over the past two years.<br /><br />The changes have resulted in lower tax rates for most taxpayers, but also fewer dollars available for state government and state aid to local governments.<br /><br />Local officials say the state is pushing more responsibility for funding and providing public services on them.<br /> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 11:48:53 +0000 Associated Press 25355 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Says Gay Couples Must File Taxes As Singles http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-says-gay-couples-must-file-taxes-singles <p>Kansas says same-sex couples must file their state income tax returns as if each person were single - even if they filed as married on their federal returns.<br /><br />The state revenue department issued the guidance Friday. It plans to provide a worksheet in its instruction booklet for calculating income, deductions and other data.<br /><br />The agency says the approach adheres to the Kansas Constitution&#39;s definition of marriage. It contends the recent U.S. Supreme Court case upheld the rights of states to define and regulate marriage.<br /> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 12:45:43 +0000 Associated Press 24490 at http://kmuw.org State Tax Revenues Short Of Expectations http://kmuw.org/post/state-tax-revenues-short-expectations <p></p><p>A new report says Kansas collected slightly less in taxes than expected in the first quarter of the fiscal year, but officials believe the shortfall may actually be a positive economic sign. Mon, 30 Sep 2013 22:39:58 +0000 Associated Press 24194 at http://kmuw.org You Won't Be Able To Deduct Your Gambling Losses For Much Longer http://kmuw.org/post/you-wont-be-able-deduct-your-gambling-losses-much-longer <p>Kansas gamblers will still be able to deduct part of their losses on their income tax forms this year, but starting next year that deduction is gone.<br><br>Doing away with the little-used gambling deduction was a popular idea among lawmakers during their session.<br><br>The bill that included gambling losses cut most deductions by 30 percent for the 2013 calendar year.<br> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 12:11:59 +0000 Associated Press 21104 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Counties Want Tax Clarification http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-counties-want-tax-clarification <p></p><p>Some county officials are asking Kansas lawmakers to clarify whether back taxes on personal property follow the property, or should be assessed to its owner. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 22:48:56 +0000 Associated Press 21033 at http://kmuw.org House Turns Down Tax Compromise http://kmuw.org/post/house-turns-down-tax-compromise <p></p><p>The Kansas House has rejected a plan for cutting personal income taxes further and for setting the state's sales tax at 6 percent. Tue, 28 May 2013 23:04:35 +0000 Associated Press 17951 at http://kmuw.org Legislative Tax Talks Continue http://kmuw.org/post/legislative-tax-talks-continue <p></p><p>Negotiators from the Kansas House and Senate are moving closer to a deal on canceling all or part of a scheduled drop in the state sales tax. Tue, 21 May 2013 23:01:00 +0000 Associated Press 17605 at http://kmuw.org