income tax http://kmuw.org en State Tax Revenues Miss Expectations In October http://kmuw.org/post/state-tax-revenues-miss-expectations-october <p>The Kansas Department of Revenue says the state collected nearly $18 million less in taxes than anticipated in October. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:49:16 +0000 Associated Press 25661 at http://kmuw.org Gov. Brownback Signs Tax Bill Into Law: Lower Income Tax, Higher Sales Tax http://kmuw.org/post/gov-brownback-signs-tax-bill-law-lower-income-tax-higher-sales-tax <p>Legislation that cuts Kansas income taxes over the next five years is now law.</p><p>Gov.&nbsp; Brownback signed <a href="http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2013_14/measures/hb2059/">House Bill 2059</a> this morning during a signing ceremony at a construction site in Overland Park.&nbsp; Brownback followed that event up with a signing ceremony this afternoon at the McGinty Machine Company in downtown Wichita.</p><p><a href="http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2013_14/measures/documents/summary_hb_2059_2013.pdf">Read a summary of the bill here</a>.</p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 19:01:00 +0000 Kate Clause & Associated Press 18814 at http://kmuw.org Possible Progress Made In Statehouse Tax Negotiations http://kmuw.org/post/possible-progress-made-statehouse-tax-negotiations <p>After making little progress for weeks, public negotiations on taxes have continued in the Kansas Statehouse.<br><br>Legislative leaders and the governor had been meeting behind closed doors, but this week it appeared those talks had stalled.<br><br>House and Senate negotiators held a public meeting Wednesday and House members offered a new compromise.<br><br>The House and Senate have been divided on the issue of sales taxes.</p> Thu, 16 May 2013 11:41:48 +0000 Stephen Koranda 17321 at http://kmuw.org Possible Progress Made In Statehouse Tax Negotiations Kansas Lawmakers May Miss Their Deadline To Finish Session http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-lawmakers-may-miss-their-deadline-finish-session <p>Kansas lawmakers just returned to the Statehouse on Wednesday, but already it looks like a disagreement on taxes could push the session past lawmakers' 80-day deadline.</p><p>House and Senate Republicans disagree on whether to extend a temporary sales tax increase. It's set to expire on July 1, and House leaders want to let it end as planned. Republican leaders in both chambers want to lower income tax rates, and Senators say keeping the sales tax elevated allows the state to lower income tax rates more quickly.</p> Thu, 09 May 2013 12:21:26 +0000 Stephen Koranda 16953 at http://kmuw.org Kansas House Advances Cuts In Sales, Income Taxes http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-house-advances-cuts-sales-income-taxes <p>The Kansas House has given first-round approval to a bill cutting sales and income taxes after rejecting a diversion of highway funds to stabilize the budget.<br><br>The bill advanced Wednesday on an 82-37 vote, suggesting it has enough support to pass on final action, which is expected Thursday.<br><br>The legislation follows up on personal income tax cuts enacted last year by promising income tax rate reductions each year that overall state revenues grow more than 2 percent.<br><br>Also, the bill allows the state sales tax to decline as scheduled in July.<br> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 11:29:47 +0000 Associated Press 14476 at http://kmuw.org Senate Passes Modified Version Of Brownback Tax Plan http://kmuw.org/post/senate-passes-modified-version-brownback-tax-plan <p>The Kansas Senate has passed a bill that would cut income tax rates in Kansas and keep the sales tax at its current rate. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 21:48:14 +0000 Stephen Koranda 14184 at http://kmuw.org House Tax Plan Differs From Brownback's Proposal http://kmuw.org/post/house-tax-plan-differs-brownbacks-proposal <p>The Kansas House will soon be considering a tax plan that's very different from one proposed by Governor Sam Brownback. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 21:09:29 +0000 Stephen Koranda 14108 at http://kmuw.org House Leaders Say Support For Gov. Brownback's Tax Plan Is Low http://kmuw.org/post/house-leaders-say-support-gov-brownbacks-tax-plan-low <p>On Friday, Republican leaders in the Kansas House there's little support in their chamber for Gov. Sam Brownback's proposal to raise additional sales tax revenue.</p><p>House Speaker Ray Merrick of Stilwell and Majority Leader Jene&nbsp;Vickrey&nbsp;of Louisberg said the measure proposed by Gov.&nbsp;Brownback does not seem viable.</p> Fri, 15 Feb 2013 21:54:24 +0000 Kate Clause 12814 at http://kmuw.org Realtors Rally To Save Income Tax Breaks For Kansas Homeowners http://kmuw.org/post/realtors-rally-save-income-tax-breaks-kansas-homeowners <p>More than 200 real estate agents rallied in Topeka Wednesday morning to ask lawmakers to preserve two different income tax breaks for homeowners.</p><p>The Kansas Association of Realtors gathered at the Statehouse before sending members to meet with state legislators.</p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 18:23:39 +0000 Kate Clause 12682 at http://kmuw.org KS Senate Committee Delays Work On Gov's Tax Plan http://kmuw.org/post/ks-senate-committee-delays-work-govs-tax-plan <p>A Senate Committee has delayed work on Gov. Sam Brownback's tax proposal. A printing mix-up meant the scheduled debate was left off the official Senate calendar for Tuesday, and the committee's chairman says he didn't want to work on the tax plan without letting the public know about it.</p><p>The committee was scheduled to debate the bill and offer amendments, also called "working" the bill.</p><p>Senate Tax Committee chairman Les Donovan says they’ll benefit from the extra time to prepare.</p> Wed, 06 Feb 2013 12:00:58 +0000 Stephen Koranda 12283 at http://kmuw.org KS Senate Committee Delays Work On Gov's Tax Plan