government shutdown http://kmuw.org en Survey Reports Midwestern Economies Impacted After Government Shutdown http://kmuw.org/post/survey-reports-midwestern-economies-impacted-after-government-shutdown <p>An economic index of Midwestern states plummeted last month, and the survey's authors say the government shutdown played a part.</p><p></p><p>The monthly report from Creighton University is a survey of businesses in nine states, including Kansas. Creighton Professor Ernie Goss calls October a tough month for the region.</p><p>"One fourth of the businesses we surveyed said there were negative impacts from the shutdown," says Goss. "I think those will be temporary and we'll see those effects reversed in the weeks and months ahead."</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 15:09:33 +0000 Stephen Koranda 25905 at http://kmuw.org Shutdown Recovery: Kansas Federal Sites Resume Operations http://kmuw.org/post/shutdown-recovery-kansas-federal-sites-resume-operations <p>Federal employees and government facilities are returning to normal operations Friday.</p><p>Congress agreed to fund the federal government after partially shutting it down for 16 days.</p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 12:01:59 +0000 Associated Press 25031 at http://kmuw.org Kan. Furloughed Employees Recalled To Work http://kmuw.org/post/kan-furloughed-employees-recalled-work <p>Civilians who were furloughed at two Kansas National Guard maintenance sites will go back to work.<br /><br />The Kansas Adjutant General&#39;s Department said Monday that 126 of the 263 federally-funded state employees will return to work at sites in Salina and Fort Riley.<br /><br />The employees perform maintenance on military equipment for active duty and reserve units.<br /><br />The department says they can be recalled because they are working under funding from the fiscal year that ended on September 30.<br /> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 12:28:44 +0000 Associated Press 24865 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Can Float Some State Agencies, But Not For Long http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-can-float-some-state-agencies-not-long <p>Gov.&nbsp;Brownback issued a statement Friday saying his administration is committed to minimizing the effects of the shutdown. The governor says the state can juggle its cash reserves to fund programs that are usually sustained by federal dollars.</p><p>For example, the state had enough in its reserve for the governor to cancel furloughs for state workers who process unemployment benefits Friday.</p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 20:32:32 +0000 Kate Clause & Associated Press 24746 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Department Of Labor Cancels Worker Furloughs http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-department-labor-cancels-worker-furloughs <p>The Kansas Department of Labor is ending most of the furloughs it imposed on employees because of the federal government&#39;s partial shutdown.<br /><br />Gov. Brownback&#39;s office says it will not put others on unpaid leave, either.<br /><br />The governor&#39;s spokeswoman Eileen Hawley says the administration will tap the state&#39;s cash reserves to maintain staffing for the state program that provides benefits to unemployed workers.<br /> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 11:49:38 +0000 Associated Press 24719 at http://kmuw.org Richard Crowson: Why The Shutdown? http://kmuw.org/post/richard-crowson-why-shutdown <p></p><p>Theories abound as to why the Republican Party has shut down our government. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Richard Crowson 24692 at http://kmuw.org Richard Crowson: Why The Shutdown? Shutdown Puts WIC Checks For Mothers In Jeopardy http://kmuw.org/post/shutdown-puts-wic-checks-mothers-jeopardy <p>If the shutdown of the federal government continues longer than two more weeks, 70,000 young mothers, babies and preschoolers in Kansas stand to lose access to some of the food they rely on.</p><p>KDHE has ordered local WIC offices to withhold checks for November and December until federal funding is assured.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">WIC checks are normally issued for three months at a time.</span></p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 12:12:04 +0000 Bryan Thompson 24661 at http://kmuw.org Kansas National Guard Recalled From Shutdown http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-national-guard-recalled-shutdown <p>All but five of the 772 Kansas National Guard airmen and soldiers who were furloughed last week because of the partial federal government shutdown are being called back to work.<br /><br />The Kansas adjutant general&#39;s office said Monday that the recalls came after the Department of Defense issued guidance over the weekend regarding which employees were covered by the federal furlough orders.<br /><br />Those five National Guard technicians who remain furloughed don&#39;t meet the guidance for recalls as stated by Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel.<br /> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 12:58:40 +0000 Associated Press 24549 at http://kmuw.org During Government Shutdown, State Parks Still Open http://kmuw.org/post/during-government-shutdown-state-parks-still-open <p>The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism is reminding people that state parks are still open during the federal government shutdown.<br /><br />Park camping areas, trails, cabins, boat ramps, and other amenities are open, as are many of the businesses who serve lake visitors.<br /><br />State nature centers are also open during regular hours. Access wildlife areas and fishing lakes operated by the department remains unchanged.<br /><br />The federal shutdown has created some confusion about state parks.<br /> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 12:59:53 +0000 Associated Press 24381 at http://kmuw.org Federal Shutdown Rolls Across Kansas http://kmuw.org/post/federal-shutdown-rolls-across-kansas <p></p><p>The federal government shutdown is showing its effects across Kansas, from shuttered national parks and Farm Service Agency offices to charities that rely on federal money. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 22:50:39 +0000 Associated Press 24314 at http://kmuw.org