At Play http://kmuw.org en At Play: Female Odd Couple Evens Up July Schedule http://kmuw.org/post/play-female-odd-couple-evens-july-schedule <p></p><p>This is the final week to see Misty Maynard’s <i>X’TICHA: Spider-God of the Amazon</i> at the Kechi Playhouse. A spoof of the old horror movies of the 50’s and 60’s complete with restless natives, an erupting volcano and a giant spider. The show will close on the 29th with the final run of performances beginning this Thursday.</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 36336 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Female Odd Couple Evens Up July Schedule At Play: Sharks, Jets, And A Dip In The Pond http://kmuw.org/post/play-sharks-jets-and-dip-pond <p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 35638 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Sharks, Jets, And A Dip In The Pond At Play: Screen Adaptations Take The Spotlight http://kmuw.org/post/play-screen-adaptations-take-spotlight <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Orpheum Theatre presents <i>Scooby Doo Live: Musical Mysteries</i> on June 12. Scooby-Doo and the Mystery Inc. Gang have been called upon to help solve an epic mystery. Filled with wacky new characters and wild antics, <i>Scooby Doo Live: Musical Mysteries</i> is intended for young audiences who love traditional Scooby-Doo adventures.</p> Mon, 26 May 2014 16:16:53 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 35012 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Screen Adaptations Take The Spotlight At Play: Angel Street, 42nd Street On The Horizon For Local Stages http://kmuw.org/post/play-angel-street-42nd-street-horizon-local-stages <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Coming in June to Wichita Community Theatre, it’s <i>Angel Street (Gaslight)</i> by Patrick Hamilton. This play was originally produced for the stage under the name <i>Gaslight</i> and has been adapted for the screen twice. It is the story of the Manninghams, who live on Angel Street in 19th Century London. As the curtain rises, all appears the essence of Victorian tranquility…but all is not what it appears…</p><p>Mosley Street Melodrama’s production of <i>Reno County 911</i> continues now through May 24.</p> Mon, 12 May 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Person: Jedd Beaudoin 34293 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Angel Street, 42nd Street On The Horizon For Local Stages Shrek, Jekyll And Hyde On Wichita Stages This Weekend http://kmuw.org/post/shrek-jekyll-and-hyde-wichita-stages-weekend <p></p><p></p><p>The Wichita State University School of Performing Arts presents <i>Chemical Imbalance: A Jekyll and Hyde Play<i>, </i></i>a farcical adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson's Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Chemical Imbalance: A Jekyll and Hyde Play is a fast-paced romp about men and women tightrope walking the line between aristocracy and depravity, and between the twin specters of good and evil.</p><p><i><i><i>Chemical Imbalance: A Jekyll &amp; Hyde Play</i></i></i> runs from May 1-4 with a Sunday matinee.</p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 33638 at http://kmuw.org Shrek, Jekyll And Hyde On Wichita Stages This Weekend At Play: All’s Fair In Love And War (Paint) http://kmuw.org/post/play-all-s-fair-love-and-war-paint <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:52:45 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 32960 at http://kmuw.org At Play: All’s Fair In Love And War (Paint) At Play: Melody And Melodrama Prevail On Wichita Stages In The Coming Weeks http://kmuw.org/post/play-melody-and-melodrama-prevail-wichita-stages-coming-weeks <p></p><p>Opening this weekend at Mosley Street Melodrama is Carol Hughes’ <i>Reno County 911: The Adventures of Starsky and Hutchinson</i>. The production opens April 3 and will close May 24. Mosley Street Melodrama will present an uncensored performance of the play at a date to be determined during that run.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 32245 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Melody And Melodrama Prevail On Wichita Stages In The Coming Weeks The Past Takes The Stage This Week On At Play http://kmuw.org/post/past-takes-stage-week-play <p></p><p></p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 31563 at http://kmuw.org The Past Takes The Stage This Week On At Play At Play: Angel Finds Southern Comfort http://kmuw.org/post/play-angel-finds-southern-comfort <p></p><p>The Wichita State University School of Performing Arts presents <i>Violet</i> March 6-9. <i>Violet</i> is based on <i>The Ugliest Pilgrim</i> by Doris Betts and set in 1964 in the deep south. The story follows the growth and enlightenment of a bitter young woman scarred by an accident as a young girl. One of the most acclaimed off-Broadway shows of the 1990’s, <i>Violet</i> is currently being staged on Broadway in a production starring Sutton Foster. This production is directed by guest director Stephen Kopel .</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 30935 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Angel Finds Southern Comfort At Play: Theatre Goes Underground http://kmuw.org/post/play-theatre-goes-underground <p></p><p>Now through February 22, the Crown Uptown presents <i>Godspell</i>. <i>Godspell</i> is a musical by Stephen Schwartz that paints a portrait with various musical parables from the Gospel According to Matthew. Jesus Christ recruits a group of followers and teaches them lessons through song and dance featuring a wide range of musical genres including bluegrass, R&amp;B and rock and roll.</p> Mon, 17 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 30346 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Theatre Goes Underground