At Play http://kmuw.org en At Play: All’s Fair In Love And War (Paint) http://kmuw.org/post/play-all-s-fair-love-and-war-paint <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:52:45 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 32960 at http://kmuw.org At Play: All’s Fair In Love And War (Paint) At Play: Melody And Melodrama Prevail On Wichita Stages In The Coming Weeks http://kmuw.org/post/play-melody-and-melodrama-prevail-wichita-stages-coming-weeks <p></p><p>Opening this weekend at Mosley Street Melodrama is Carol Hughes’ <i>Reno County 911: The Adventures of Starsky and Hutchinson</i>. The production opens April 3 and will close May 24. Mosley Street Melodrama will present an uncensored performance of the play at a date to be determined during that run.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 32245 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Melody And Melodrama Prevail On Wichita Stages In The Coming Weeks The Past Takes The Stage This Week On At Play http://kmuw.org/post/past-takes-stage-week-play <p></p><p></p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 31563 at http://kmuw.org The Past Takes The Stage This Week On At Play At Play: Angel Finds Southern Comfort http://kmuw.org/post/play-angel-finds-southern-comfort <p></p><p>The Wichita State University School of Performing Arts presents <i>Violet</i> March 6-9. <i>Violet</i> is based on <i>The Ugliest Pilgrim</i> by Doris Betts and set in 1964 in the deep south. The story follows the growth and enlightenment of a bitter young woman scarred by an accident as a young girl. One of the most acclaimed off-Broadway shows of the 1990’s, <i>Violet</i> is currently being staged on Broadway in a production starring Sutton Foster. This production is directed by guest director Stephen Kopel .</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 30935 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Angel Finds Southern Comfort At Play: Theatre Goes Underground http://kmuw.org/post/play-theatre-goes-underground <p></p><p>Now through February 22, the Crown Uptown presents <i>Godspell</i>. <i>Godspell</i> is a musical by Stephen Schwartz that paints a portrait with various musical parables from the Gospel According to Matthew. Jesus Christ recruits a group of followers and teaches them lessons through song and dance featuring a wide range of musical genres including bluegrass, R&amp;B and rock and roll.</p> Mon, 17 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 30346 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Theatre Goes Underground At Play: Love, Evolution, And Science For Kids http://kmuw.org/post/play-love-evolution-and-science-kids <p></p><p></p><p>There’s still time to catch Wichita Community Theatre’s production of <i>Inherit The Wind</i>, written by Jerome Lawrence &amp; Robert E. Lee. The town of Hillsboro and its citizen Bertram Cates are on trial for teaching evolution in the public schools. The world has its eye on this small town as the trial unfolds. This production features Wichita stage veterans Don Wineke and David Bailey among others. The production closes on February 9.</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 29709 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Love, Evolution, And Science For Kids At Play: 24 Hour Theatre People http://kmuw.org/post/play-24-hour-theatre-people <p></p><p>Wichita Community Theatre presents <i>Inherit the Wind</i> by Jerome Lawrence &amp; Robert E. Lee January 23-February 9. The town of Hillsboro and its citizen Bertram Cates are on trial for teaching evolution in the public schools. The world has its eye on this small town as the trial unfolds. This production features Wichita stage veterans Don Wineke and David Bailey among others.</p> Mon, 20 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 29110 at http://kmuw.org At Play: 24 Hour Theatre People At Play: Driving Miss Daisy Comes To The Forum http://kmuw.org/post/play-driving-miss-daisy-comes-forum <p></p><p></p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 15:54:31 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 28533 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Driving Miss Daisy Comes To The Forum At Play: 2014 Preview http://kmuw.org/post/play-2014-preview <p></p><p>Wichita Community Theatre will present <i>Inherit The Wind</i> January 23 through February 9. The classic play dramatizes the 1925 Scopes “Monkey” Trial. Written in 1955, the play is traditionally seen as a discussion of McCarthyism.</p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 27992 at http://kmuw.org At Play: 2014 Preview At Play: Tru Holidays http://kmuw.org/post/play-tru-holidays <p>Now through December 22 you can catch Irving Berlin’s <i>White Christmas</i> at the Crown Uptown. This musical tells the story of two showbiz friends putting on a show in a picturesque Vermont inn, and finding their perfect mates in the bargain. The show features memorable songs such as “Count Your Blessings Instead of Sheep,” “Happy Holiday,” “Sisters,” “Blue Skies,” and the title tune.</p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Jedd Beaudoin 27338 at http://kmuw.org At Play: Tru Holidays