Kris Kobach http://kmuw.org en Schodorf Officially Announces Secretary Of State Run http://kmuw.org/post/schodorf-officially-announces-secretary-state-run <p>Former Republican state Sen. Jean Schodorf has formally announced that she'll run for Kansas secretary of state next year as a Democrat, hoping to challenge incumbent Republican incumbent Kris Kobach. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 22:43:32 +0000 Associated Press 25599 at http://kmuw.org Schodorf To Challenge Kobach For Secretary Of State http://kmuw.org/post/schodorf-challenge-kobach-secretary-state <p>Former Republican state senator Jean Schodorf says she will run for Kansas Secretary of State next year as a Democrat.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Schodorf, from Wichita, confirmed her intention to run Tuesday during a meeting of the Saline County Democratic Party. </span>Schodorf<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> will challenge incumbent Republican Secretary of State Kris </span>Kobach<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 13:59:33 +0000 Associated Press 23945 at http://kmuw.org Kobach To Testify In Ohio On Election Laws http://kmuw.org/post/kobach-testify-ohio-election-laws <p>Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach is scheduled to testify before a presidential elections commission Friday in Cincinnati about the state's efforts to crosscheck voter registration databases.</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 12:46:13 +0000 Associated Press 23667 at http://kmuw.org Kobach Considering Rule to Create Two Classes of Voters http://kmuw.org/post/kobach-considering-rule-create-two-classes-voters <p></p><p>Voter registration applications for more than 12,000 people in Kansas are on hold because of missing documents that could prove U.S. citizenship. A law that took effect this year requires people who register to vote for the first time in Kansas to prove their citizenship.</p><p>Secretary of State Kris Kobach says he's considering a rule that could allow those voters to cast ballots in certain elections.</p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 21:44:33 +0000 Stephen Koranda 21318 at http://kmuw.org Voting Fix Proposed After 11,000 Delayed Voter Registrations http://kmuw.org/post/voting-fix-proposed-after-11000-delayed-voter-registrations <p>A state board is meeting to consider proposed temporary rules and regulation changes to the Kansas law regarding proof of citizenship for newly registered voters.<br><br>Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach is proposing the rules Tuesday in response to a glitch that caused delays to some 11,000 voter registration applications. Kansas started requiring that new applications to register to vote in the state also include proof of citizenship.<br> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 12:29:21 +0000 Associated Press 20458 at http://kmuw.org Kobach Says Kansas' Voter ID Law Unaffected By Supreme Court Decision http://kmuw.org/post/kobach-says-kansas-voter-id-law-unaffected-supreme-court-decision <p>Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach says the state's proof-of-citizenship requirement for new voters can still be enforced, even though t<a href="http://www.kmuw.org/post/supreme-court-strikes-down-arizona-voting-law">he U.S. Supreme Court ruled against a similar law in Arizona</a>.<br><br>The Supreme Court said the Arizona law conflicted with federal voting laws.<br><br>Kobach says the Kansas law differs enough from Arizona's version that the court's decision Monday doesn't apply to Kansas.<br><br>County election officials say they were waiting on Kobach's response to the ruling.<br> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 13:13:22 +0000 Associated Press 19055 at http://kmuw.org Protesters Oppose Kobach's Work On Immigration http://kmuw.org/post/protesters-oppose-kobachs-work-immigration <p>Around 50 protesters, mostly young people, gathered outside Secretary of State Kris Kobach's office Tuesday, calling on him to resign. Among other things, the protesters said Kobach spends too much time on immigration issues.</p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 12:29:41 +0000 Stephen Koranda 8843 at http://kmuw.org Protesters Oppose Kobach's Work On Immigration Kansas Man Launches Effort To Recall Kobach http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-man-launches-effort-recall-kobach-0 <p></p><p style="padding: 0px; margin-bottom: 16px; border: 0px; outline: 0px; font-size: 11.818181991577148px; font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', Arial, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(85, 85, 85); line-height: 14.545454025268555px; ">A Topeka resident formally launched an effort Wednesday to recall Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach, but state law creates large hurdles to force an election.</p> Thu, 18 Oct 2012 11:35:33 +0000 Associated Press 7268 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Man Launches Effort To Recall Kobach Top Morning News 10.18.12 http://kmuw.org/post/top-morning-news-101812 <p><em><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11.818181991577148px; line-height: 14.545454025268555px; ">New website to take anonymous tips about school spending; </span>ATC<span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11.818181991577148px; line-height: 14.545454025268555px; ">&nbsp;won't be used in assessment of KS students</span></em><em><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11.818181991577148px; line-height: 14.545454025268555px Thu, 18 Oct 2012 11:26:04 +0000 Briana O’Higgins 7269 at http://kmuw.org Top Morning News 10.18.12 Kansas Republican Party Fined http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-republican-party-fined <p>The Federal Elections Commission has fined the Kansas Republican Party $6,500 for violating campaign finance law.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 18:25:44 +0000 Frank Dudgeon & Associated Press 1900 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Republican Party Fined