jazz http://kmuw.org en Jazz Age Shanghai - Read the Book, Hear the Music http://kmuw.org/post/jazz-age-shanghai-read-book-hear-music <p><u><strong>Jazz Age Shanghai - Read the Book, Hear the Music</strong></u></p><p><strong>A video with the song "Ye Shang Hai" and clips from movies of the era with additional background and a translation of the song </strong><a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adZTK8tCL3s" target="_blank"><strong>here</strong></a>.</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 22:06:53 +0000 Chris Heim 32140 at http://kmuw.org Jazz Age Shanghai - Read the Book, Hear the Music Friends University Hosts Jazz Fest With Master Classes http://kmuw.org/post/friends-university-hosts-jazz-fest-master-classes <p>Area high school, middle school, and junior college jazz bands and jazz vocal ensembles will sharpen their skills this weekend under the direction of musical masters at Friends University.&nbsp; The <a href="http://www.friends.edu/jazz-festival" target="_blank">21<sup>st</sup> Annual Jazz Festival</a> is a two-day event on the Friends University campus in Wichita. An invitational vocal concert will cap off Friday's events and the festival will culminate with the Headliner Concert Saturday night. (The festival's daytime events are no-cost and welcome observers.)</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Carla Eckels 30519 at http://kmuw.org Friends University Hosts Jazz Fest With Master Classes Top 40 Albums September 2012 http://kmuw.org/post/top-40-albums-september-2012-1 <p></p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 20:18:30 +0000 Chris Heim 7133 at http://kmuw.org Top 40 Albums August 2012 http://kmuw.org/post/top-40-albums-september-2012 <p></p> Tue, 11 Sep 2012 19:28:51 +0000 Chris Heim 5460 at http://kmuw.org August Feature: NEA Jazz Masters http://kmuw.org/post/august-feature-nea-jazz-masters <p></p> Wed, 01 Aug 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Chris Heim 2940 at http://kmuw.org Top 40 Albums July 2012 http://kmuw.org/post/top-40-albums-july-2012 <p></p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 16:11:02 +0000 Chris Heim 2926 at http://kmuw.org Top 40 Albums June 2012 http://kmuw.org/post/top-40-albums-june-2012-0 <ol class="ol1"><li style="margin: 0px; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; font-family: Arial; ">Steve Kuhn - Wisteria (ECM)</li><li style="margin: 0px; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; font-family: Arial; ">Chris Hazelton Trio - Peregrination (Artists Recording Collective)</li><li style="margin: 0px; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; font-family: Arial; ">Florian Hoefner Group - Songs Without Words (OA2)</li><li style="margin: 0px; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; font-family: Arial; ">Shawnn Monteiro - To Carmen with Love (Whaling City Sound)</li><li style="margin: 0px; font Thu, 05 Jul 2012 19:59:07 +0000 Chris Heim 1909 at http://kmuw.org July Feature: Dr. Lonnie Smith http://kmuw.org/post/july-feature-dr-lonnie-smith <p>Over the years, many different instruments that were not part of the early ensembles have come to have a home in jazz. And their inclusion has added new textures and new approaches to the music. One of the more successful migrants into jazz has been the organ. Thu, 05 Jul 2012 19:54:59 +0000 Chris Heim 1908 at http://kmuw.org