Boeing http://kmuw.org en U.S. District Judge Monti Belot Sets Hearing In Lawsuit Against Boeing http://kmuw.org/post/us-district-judge-monti-belot-sets-hearing-lawsuit-against-boeing <p>U.S. District Judge Monti Belot has set a hearing in a lawsuit against Boeing.</p><p>The Society of Professional Engineering Employees in Aerospace filed the lawsuit in 2005.</p><p>The suit over pensions and retiree medical benefits stems from when Boeing sold its commercial aircraft operations in Wichita to Spirit Aerosystems.</p><p>The Machinists union joined the lawsuit in January of 2007, and the court later consolidated it into the litigation of a similar case brought by several workers.</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:37:06 +0000 Associated Press 32808 at http://kmuw.org New Boeing Wing Opens At Kansas Aviation Museum http://kmuw.org/post/new-boeing-wing-opens-kansas-aviation-museum <p>The <a href="http://www.kansasaviationmuseum.org/">Kansas Aviation Museum</a> opens the new Boeing Science, Math and History Learning Center in southeast Wichita Saturday.</p><p></p><p>The hands-on education experience is designed for students to work individually or in groups. The learning center has been five years in the making and features four learning stations with computers that will run interactive programs on things like flight and weather conditions.</p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 10:42:40 +0000 Milt Radford 14205 at http://kmuw.org New Boeing Wing Opens At Kansas Aviation Museum Boeing Begins To Prepare Wichita Facility For Sale http://kmuw.org/post/boeing-begins-prepare-wichita-facility-sale <p>Boeing officials say they will begin actively marketing the company's Wichita defense facilities by the end of January.</p><p>Company spokeswoman Kathleen Spicer says Boeing is working with the national real estate firm CBRE Group of Los Angeles to arrange the sale of the property.</p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 17:43:57 +0000 Kate Clause & Associated Press 10969 at http://kmuw.org Court: Age Discrimination Unproven In Boeing Sale http://kmuw.org/post/court-age-discrimination-unproven-boeing-sale <p>A federal appeals court panel has sided with The Boeing Company and Spirit AeroSystems in an age discrimination lawsuit.</p><p>The lawsuit was filed by 90 former Boeing workers after the 2005 sale of its commercial airplane operations in Kansas and Oklahoma.</p><p>The 10th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals ruled today that while employees showed discrimination occurred during the sale, the workers cannot prove a pattern existed.</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 18:12:20 +0000 Associated Press 4698 at http://kmuw.org Court: Age Discrimination Unproven In Boeing Sale KS Orgs Receive Grant To Document Boeing’s Legacy In Wichita http://kmuw.org/post/ks-orgs-receive-grant-document-boeing-s-legacy-wichita <p>The <a href="http://kansashumanities.org/site/">Kansas Humanities Council</a> has received an award from the <a href="http://www.loc.gov/index.html">Library of Congress</a> to document Boeing&rsquo;s legacy in Wichita through an oral history project.</p><p>The Kansas Humanities Council was one of five recipients of the Archie Green Fellowship through the American Folk Life Center.</p> Fri, 01 Jun 2012 14:58:58 +0000 Briana O’Higgins 342 at http://kmuw.org KS Orgs Receive Grant To Document Boeing’s Legacy In Wichita Crowson Cartoon: Boeing http://kmuw.org/post/crowson-cartoon-boeing <p></p> Fri, 06 Jan 2012 13:46:27 +0000 Richard Crowson 6113 at http://kmuw.org Crowson Cartoon: Boeing Richard Crowson: Played Like A Violin http://kmuw.org/post/richard-crowson-played-violin <p></p> Fri, 06 Jan 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Richard Crowson 1726 at http://kmuw.org Richard Crowson: Played Like A Violin