NBAF http://kmuw.org en NBAF Funding Advances To Full Senate http://kmuw.org/post/nbaf-funding-advances-full-senate <p>Kansas Senators Jerry Moran and Pat Roberts say funding for a federal lab to be built in Manhattan has passed an important hurdle. Thu, 18 Jul 2013 21:46:06 +0000 Stephen Koranda 20611 at http://kmuw.org Senate Subcommittee Approves NBAF Funds http://kmuw.org/post/senate-subcommittee-approves-nbaf-funds <p></p><p>A U.S. Senate subcommittee on Tuesday approved $404 million in federal spending for the construction of a federal research laboratory at Kansas State University. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 22:57:05 +0000 Associated Press 20499 at http://kmuw.org New Kansas Biodefense Lab Officially Gets Underway http://kmuw.org/post/new-kansas-biodefense-lab-officially-gets-underway <p>Kansas officials will formally break ground on a new federal biodefense lab in Manhattan.<br><br>Officials including Gov. Sam Brownback and leaders of Kansas State University will hold a ceremony Tuesday as ground is broken for the lab's utility plant.<br><br>It marks the start of construction on the $1.15 billion National Bio- and Agro-Defense Facility, scheduled to be operational by the end of the decade.<br><br>The lab will research dangerous animal diseases and ways of protecting the nation's food supply.<br> Tue, 28 May 2013 11:20:21 +0000 Associated Press 17885 at http://kmuw.org Negotiators Agree On NBAF Bonds http://kmuw.org/post/negotiators-agree-nbaf-bonds <p></p><p>Kansas House and Senate budget negotiators have agreed to authorize issuing $202 million in bonds to build a federal biodefense research lab in Manhattan. Thu, 16 May 2013 22:42:04 +0000 Associated Press 17367 at http://kmuw.org KS Senate Votes to Approve Additional NBAF Bonds http://kmuw.org/post/ks-senate-votes-approve-additional-nbaf-bonds <p>The Kansas Senate has given first-round approval to a bill that would issue $200 million in additional state bonds to help pay for a federal research lab to be built in Manhattan. Tue, 14 May 2013 21:27:33 +0000 Person: Stephen Koranda 17239 at http://kmuw.org Gov's Office Lobbies For NBAF Bond Support http://kmuw.org/post/govs-office-lobbies-nbaf-bond-support <p></p><p>Gov. Sam Brownback's chief of staff says the latest cost estimates for a new, national biosecurity lab and commitments from federal officials about its funding are "pretty solid." Thu, 09 May 2013 22:47:48 +0000 Associated Press 16994 at http://kmuw.org Kansas GOP Conservatives Balk At More Bonds For Lab http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-gop-conservatives-balk-more-bonds-lab <p>Conservative Republican senators are pushing back at Gov. Sam Brownback's request that Kansas issue $202 million dollars more in bonds to help finance construction of a federal bio-security lab<br><br>Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee heard the pitch Thursday from Landon Fulmer, the governor's chief of staff.<br><br>Fulmer says the bonding request represented the last money that Kansas would have to contribute to building the $1.15 billion dollar National Bio- and Agro-Defense Facility at Kansas State University.</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2013 11:36:47 +0000 Associated Press 16262 at http://kmuw.org $714M For Manhattan Biosecurity Lab In Obama's Budget http://kmuw.org/post/714m-manhattan-biosecurity-lab-obamas-budget <p>President Obama's 2014 budget proposal includes more than $700 million for <a href="http://www.dhs.gov/national-bio-and-agro-defense-facility">NBAF, the state-of-the-art biosecurity lab</a> planned for Manhattan, adjacent to Kansas State University.</p><p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In response to the budget announcement, </span>Gov<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Sam </span>Brownback<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> immediately pledged to work with lawmakers during the upcoming veto session to approve state bonds to help complete the lab.</span></p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 11:23:01 +0000 Bryan Thompson 15505 at http://kmuw.org $714M For Manhattan Biosecurity Lab In Obama's Budget Senator Roberts Anticipates NBAF Funding 'Breakthrough' http://kmuw.org/post/senator-roberts-anticipates-nbaf-funding-breakthrough <p>The logjam over federal funding for a state-of-the-art animal disease laboratory at Kansas State University is on the verge of breaking, according to Kansas Senator Pat Roberts.</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 11:55:19 +0000 Bryan Thompson 12988 at http://kmuw.org Top Morning News 2.20.13 http://kmuw.org/post/top-morning-news-22013 <p><em>Kansas senator expecting announcement on NBAF; Action expected on school funding formula; Gas explosion destroys restaurant in KC.</em></p><p><strong>Sen. Roberts Anticipates NBAF&nbsp;'Breakthrough'</strong></p><p>The stalemate over federal funding for a state-of-the-art animal disease laboratory at Kansas State may soon be over.</p><p><a href="http://kmuw.org/post/senator-roberts-anticipates-nbaf-funding-breakthrough">More...</a></p><p><strong>Panel OKs&nbsp;School Amendment</strong></p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 11:38:07 +0000 Briana O’Higgins & Kate Clause 12990 at http://kmuw.org Top Morning News 2.20.13