courts http://kmuw.org en House Committee Votes To Cut Court Reporter Jobs http://kmuw.org/post/house-committee-votes-cut-court-reporter-jobs <p>The budget-writing committee in the Kansas House has voted to cut 18 court reporter positions in the judicial branch and eliminate 13 additional unfilled positions.</p><p>Representative Pete DeGraaf, a Mulvane Republican, says this would help prompt the judicial branch to find cost savings. He says there's institutional resistance to change.</p><p>“Most of them know that this is inevitable and actually best and it’s efficient and probably the thing that needs to happen," DeGraaf says. "But who wants to be the first one to suggest it?”</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:44:59 +0000 Stephen Koranda 31341 at http://kmuw.org Past and Present: Court Day Is Here! Court Day Is Here! http://kmuw.org/post/past-and-present-court-day-here-court-day-here <p></p><p></p><p>Next week, the U.S. Supreme Court opens its October Term. Most Americans these days will not mark this first Monday in October with any fanfare, but in 18th-century Virginia, the celebration of &ldquo;Court Day&rdquo; established the legal and social rules for the entire community. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Robin Henry 24242 at http://kmuw.org Past and Present: Court Day Is Here! Court Day Is Here! Legislators Not Finished With Court Appointment Debate http://kmuw.org/post/legislators-not-finished-court-appointment-debate <p></p><p>Leaders of the Kansas House and Senate Judiciary committees expect lawmakers to renew consideration of the way judges are appointed to the state Court of Appeals and Supreme Court. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 22:44:14 +0000 Associated Press 23015 at http://kmuw.org Grant Boosts Efforts To Modernize KS Courts http://kmuw.org/post/grant-boosts-efforts-modernize-ks-courts <p></p><p>An infusion of federal grant money is expected to improve access to court records and reduce expenses by expanding electronic case filing to more Kansas district courts. Wed, 10 Jul 2013 22:49:13 +0000 Associated Press 20183 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Abortion Lawsuit Now On Federal Fast Track http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-abortion-lawsuit-now-federal-fast-track <p></p><p>The chief federal judge for Kansas has set what she considers an aggressive schedule for a lawsuit by Planned Parenthood against parts of a new state abortion law. Mon, 01 Jul 2013 23:02:42 +0000 Associated Press 19738 at http://kmuw.org State Judge Puts Hold On Parts Of Abortion Law http://kmuw.org/post/state-judge-puts-hold-parts-abortion-law <p></p><p>A Kansas judge has temporarily blocked parts of a sweeping state anti-abortion law set to take effect July 1. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 22:50:26 +0000 Associated Press 19618 at http://kmuw.org Bill Changes How Kan. Court Docket Fees Are Spent http://kmuw.org/post/bill-changes-how-kan-court-docket-fees-are-spent <p>The Kansas House has narrowly approved a change in how some state programs are funded. Certain programs receive money from docket fees paid in the court system, but a bill in the House would instead put that docket fee money in the state general fund.</p><p>The money from docket fees goes to 14 programs, including the state Trauma Fund and the Access to Justice Fund. Supporters of the change say the docket money should instead be put into the state general fund, where lawmakers could then appropriate it to the programs.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 10:42:21 +0000 Stephen Koranda 14701 at http://kmuw.org Bill Changes How Kan. Court Docket Fees Are Spent Proposal Would Change Judicial Selection Process http://kmuw.org/post/proposal-would-change-judicial-selection-process <p>A proposal to give Kansas governors and lawmakers more power over appointments to the state's appellate courts cleared a legislative committee Wednesday.</p><p>The measure would amend the Kansas Constitution to allow governors to appoint whomever they choose to the state Court of Appeals and Supreme Court, subject to Senate confirmation. It would scrap the statewide, attorney-led commission that now screens applications.</p><p>Currently, the commission nominates three finalists for the governor, who then makes the appointment without legislative review.</p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 12:03:41 +0000 Associated Press 11634 at http://kmuw.org Justice Department Opposes Hawker Bonus Plan http://kmuw.org/post/justice-department-opposes-hawker-bonus-plan <p>The Justice Department&rsquo;s bankruptcy watchdog agency opposes a move by Hawker Beechcraft to pay eight senior executives more than $5.3 million in bonuses.</p> Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:29:08 +0000 The Associated Press & Frank Dudgeon 2881 at http://kmuw.org