Ulrich Museum of Art http://kmuw.org en Celebrating An Art Lover http://kmuw.org/post/celebrating-art-lover <p></p><p>This month the Ulrich Underground honors a beloved member of our community, <a href="http://vimeo.com/78381382">Ruth Ann Martin,</a> in the exhibition, <a href="http://webs.wichita.edu/?u=ulrichmuseum&amp;p=/Art/Exhibitions/Fill_It_To_the_Brim/"><em>Fill It to the Brim</em></a>.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 35715 at http://kmuw.org Celebrating An Art Lover Experiencing 'The Bridge Club' http://kmuw.org/post/experiencing-bridge-club <p></p><p>There has been a lot of performance art in Wichita lately: ProjectvRunaway for WSU Shift Space, George Ferrandi with Harvester Arts, and The Bridge Club brought in by the Ulrich Museum.</p><p>For those who may not "get" performance art, you are far from alone. But let me offer this brief explanation: Performance artists craft experiences, instead of paintings or sculptures. It is ephemeral, and while there may be photographic documentation, viewing images and experiencing the performance are two separate things.</p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 33736 at http://kmuw.org Experiencing 'The Bridge Club' Indie Film Guide: Bar Crawls, Film Education and Kids In Prison http://kmuw.org/post/indie-film-guide-bar-crawls-film-education-and-kids-prison <p></p><p><i>Each week, Fletcher Powell finds the independent and non-commercial films showing in Wichita and the surrounding areas and brings them to you in this handy guide.</i></p><p><i> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:45:47 +0000 Fletcher Powell 30769 at http://kmuw.org Indie Film Guide: Bar Crawls, Film Education and Kids In Prison 'Juvenile' A Powerful Look At Forgotten Children http://kmuw.org/post/juvenile-powerful-look-forgotten-children <p></p><p>The Ulrich Museum’s exhibition <em>Juvenile in Justice</em> presents the award–winning work of photographer Richard Ross. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 29809 at http://kmuw.org 'Juvenile' A Powerful Look At Forgotten Children Art: Looking Forward To 2014 http://kmuw.org/post/art-looking-forward-2014 <p></p><p>It’s the New Year, and with it comes the excitement of change and things to come. Galleries are preparing for their newest shows, but for 2014 the Ulrich Museum is taking the bull by the horns with four new exhibitions opening in January.</p><p>In the upstairs Polk/Wilson Gallery, the sublime photographs by Richard Ross take an unblinking look at the conditions and treatment of American juveniles currently held in detention centers for the show <em>Juvenile In Justice</em>.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 28444 at http://kmuw.org Art: Looking Forward To 2014 What Can Contemporary Art Tell Us About Our Environment? http://kmuw.org/post/what-can-contemporary-art-tell-us-about-our-environment <p></p><p></p><p>On November 8th and 9th, the Ulrich Museum and the Wichita Art Museum team up for a joint symposium called <em>Nature’s Impact, Art’s Force</em>. While the title is a little awkward, the collective symposium appears intriguing, as it will tackle issues of nature, ecology and technology through the lens of contemporary art. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 25526 at http://kmuw.org What Can Contemporary Art Tell Us About Our Environment? WAM Exhibition Is A Vibrant Debut For New Ulrich Curator http://kmuw.org/post/wam-exhibition-vibrant-debut-new-ulrich-curator <p></p><p>This month, the Wichita Art Museum opened &ldquo;Vital Signs: New Media Art from the San Jose Museum of Art.&rdquo; Wed, 02 Oct 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 24243 at http://kmuw.org WAM Exhibition Is A Vibrant Debut For New Ulrich Curator Art Review: Nature's Toolbox http://kmuw.org/post/art-review-natures-toolbox <p></p><p>Over the Labor Day weekend, the Ulrich Museum opened their new fall exhibition: <em>Nature’s Toolbox: Biodiversity, Art and Invention</em>. The exhibition aims to raise awareness of the human impact on the environment. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 22861 at http://kmuw.org Art Review: Nature's Toolbox Wichita State's Century Plant Now In Mid-Bloom http://kmuw.org/post/wichita-states-century-plant-now-mid-bloom <p>The 26-year-old agave plant on Wichita State’s campus that we <a href="http://kmuw.org/post/30-year-old-plant-wakes-wichita">reported on previously&nbsp; </a>is now in mid-bloom.</p><p>Campus floral supervisor Kari Ossman has kept a close eye on the plant and considers the plant’s blooming a real education.</p><p>“The next phase will be to watch it bloom, to measure it, and to kind of watch it after it blooms to see if the plant really does die,” she said.</p><p>Century plants typically die after blooming, and Ossman looks forward to seeing the process.</p> Tue, 27 Aug 2013 19:48:01 +0000 Nicollette Engels 22537 at http://kmuw.org Wichita State's Century Plant Now In Mid-Bloom Art: Louise Nevelson http://kmuw.org/post/art-louise-nevelson <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51);">Louise Nevelson was a key American sculptor in the mid-20th century. Her Modernist artwork changed the world of sculpture – much like what Jackson Pollock did for painting. Wed, 24 Jul 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 20817 at http://kmuw.org Art: Louise Nevelson