Board of Regents http://kmuw.org en Controversial KBOR Social Media Policy Will Stand - For Now http://kmuw.org/post/controversial-kbor-social-media-policy-will-stand-now <p></p><p>In December, the Kansas Board of Regents instituted a <a href="http://www.kansasregents.org/policy_chapter_ii_c_suspensions">policy governing social media use</a> for the seven-university system in the state. The controversy over the sweeping policy and the possibility of first amendment issues has been heating up ever since. KMUW's&nbsp;Aileen LeBlanc has this report:<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p><strong>BACKGROUND</strong></p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 17:30:24 +0000 Aileen LeBlanc, Julia Holen & Hugo Phan 29098 at http://kmuw.org Controversial KBOR Social Media Policy Will Stand - For Now Regents Social Media Policy Drawing Criticism http://kmuw.org/post/regents-social-media-policy-drawing-criticism <p>A new social media policy passed by the Kansas Board of Regents is drawing fire. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 20:56:15 +0000 Stephen Koranda 28075 at http://kmuw.org Enrollment Drops At Kansas Community Colleges http://kmuw.org/post/enrollment-drops-kansas-community-colleges <p>Enrollment is down this fall at the 19 community colleges in Kansas.<br /><br />A new report by the Kansas Board of Regents says statewide community college enrollments are down more than 3.8 percent. That&#39;s a drop of nearly 3,100 students from last fall.<br /><br />Kansas City Community College experienced the largest decline of 911 students from last fall.<br /><br />The Board of Regents&#39; head count is based on the first 20 days of the fall semester. Enrollment may go up as students sign up for a second eight-week schedule and for online courses.<br /> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 12:39:04 +0000 Associated Press 24489 at http://kmuw.org Regents Request Budget Restoration http://kmuw.org/post/regents-request-budget-restoration <p>The Kansas Board of Regents has asked the governor to restore tens of millions of dollars in higher education spending that was cut this spring. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 22:23:24 +0000 Associated Press 23702 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Board Of Regents Wants Concealed Carry Study http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-board-regents-wants-concealed-carry-study <p>The Kansas Board of Regents wants an in-depth study of a new law that allows more concealed weapons into public buildings.<br><br>The regents decided to pursue the study during their annual retreat Tuesday.<br><br>The law took effect July 1.<br><br>It allows Kansans with concealed carry permits to carry weapons on public college campuses. The regents have requested an immediate six-month exemption for universities, and could later seek an extension through 2017.<br> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 12:12:22 +0000 Associated Press 21913 at http://kmuw.org Democratic Senator Criticizes Regents Appointments http://kmuw.org/post/democratic-senator-criticizes-regents-appointments <p>A Democratic senator from Topeka says Governor Sam Brownback is packing the Kansas Board of Regents with too many Republicans. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 20:54:36 +0000 Stephen Koranda 19787 at http://kmuw.org Regents Approve Tuition Hikes But Still Focused On Undoing Funding Cuts http://kmuw.org/post/regents-approve-tuition-hikes-still-focused-undoing-funding-cuts <p>The Kansas Board of Regents has approved tuition increases at public universities that will have some students paying nearly 9 percent more this fall. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 11:14:19 +0000 Associated Press 19163 at http://kmuw.org KS Regents Blast University Budget Cuts http://kmuw.org/post/ks-regents-blast-university-budget-cuts <p>Members of the Kansas Board of Regents Thursday criticized the cuts to higher education in a budget passed by the state Legislature. Thu, 06 Jun 2013 20:54:13 +0000 Stephen Koranda 18464 at http://kmuw.org Regents To Revisit Concealed Weapons Policy http://kmuw.org/post/regents-revisit-concealed-weapons-policy <p></p><p>The chairman of the Kansas Board of Regents expects the board to reconsider its policy banning concealed weapons on state university campuses. Wed, 17 Apr 2013 22:46:43 +0000 Associated Press 15836 at http://kmuw.org Regents Request Additional $47 Mil For KS Universities http://kmuw.org/post/regents-request-additional-47-mil-ks-universities <p></p><p style="padding: 0px; margin-bottom: 16px; border: 0px; outline: 0px; font-size: 11.818181991577148px; font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', Arial, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(85, 85, 85); line-height: 14.545454025268555px; ">The Kansas Board of Regents has finalized a plan outlining how much money it will request from lawmakers for the coming fiscal year.</p> Fri, 21 Sep 2012 12:20:09 +0000 Stephen Koranda 5983 at http://kmuw.org