Kansas Senate http://kmuw.org en Senate Advances No Call Expansion http://kmuw.org/post/senate-advances-no-call-expansion <p>The Kansas Senate has given first-round approval to a bill adding cellphone numbers to the state's no call law for telephone solicitors. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 23:39:55 +0000 Associated Press 30483 at http://kmuw.org Brownback Nominates State Senator for KCC Seat http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-nominates-state-senator-kcc-seat <p>Governor Sam Brownback is nominating a former Kansas Senate majority leader for a seat on the Kansas Corporation Commission.</p><p>Brownback has chosen Republican Senator Jay Emler, from Lindsborg, to take the position being vacated by KCC Chairman Mark Sievers.</p><p>Brownback says Emler will be a good fit for the commission, which regulates industries including utilities and oil drilling.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:13:08 +0000 Stephen Koranda 28663 at http://kmuw.org Roberts May Face Opposition In Run For Senate http://kmuw.org/post/roberts-may-face-opposition-run-senate <p>U.S. Sen. Pat Roberts may have a primary challenge in his bid for re-election.<br /><br />Milton Wolf is inviting supporters on his website to a &quot;major announcement&quot; Tuesday night regarding the 2014 Kansas Senate campaign.<br /><br />The Johnson County doctor is expected to say he&#39;s moving ahead with a Republican primary challenge to Roberts.<br /><br />Roberts is seeking a fourth six-year term in the U.S. Senate. No Democrat has announced plans to run.</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 13:15:26 +0000 Associated Press 24550 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Senate Confirms Stegall Nomination http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-senate-confirms-stegall-nomination <p>The Kansas Senate has confirmed the nomination of Caleb Stegall to the Kansas Court of Appeals. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 22:10:06 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22953 at http://kmuw.org Bill Would Create Review Panel For Board Of Education Decisions http://kmuw.org/post/bill-would-create-review-panel-board-education-decisions <p><a href="http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2013_14/committees/ctte_s_wam_1/">The Senate Ways and Means Committee</a> has introduced legislation that would <em>pause</em> the implementation of new Common Core Education standards. The bill the committee introduced Friday would create an 11-member legislative panel to review the State Board of Education's decisions on any new education standards.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 20:12:36 +0000 Associated Press 18140 at http://kmuw.org Drug Testing Bill Awaits Gov's Signature http://kmuw.org/post/drug-testing-bill-awaits-govs-signature <p>Senators have sent a bill to Gov. Sam Brownback's desk that would require Kansas residents who receive welfare and unemployment benefits to submit to drug testing. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 22:37:14 +0000 Associated Press 15098 at http://kmuw.org Drug Testing Bill Awaits Gov's Signature Teacher Bargaining Rights Bills Shelved http://kmuw.org/post/teacher-bargaining-rights-bills-shelved <p>Two bills that would have cut back teachers' bargaining rights have been shelved for this session. Fri, 22 Mar 2013 20:50:06 +0000 Stephen Koranda 14581 at http://kmuw.org Senate Leaders Considering KDOT/KTA Merger http://kmuw.org/post/senate-leaders-considering-kdotkta-merger <p>A limited merger of the Kansas Turnpike Authority and the Kansas Department of Transportation recently passed the House, but leaders in the Kansas Senate may be interested in something a bit more comprehensive. Fri, 15 Mar 2013 20:40:31 +0000 Stephen Koranda 14239 at http://kmuw.org Senate Passes Modified Version Of Brownback Tax Plan http://kmuw.org/post/senate-passes-modified-version-brownback-tax-plan <p>The Kansas Senate has passed a bill that would cut income tax rates in Kansas and keep the sales tax at its current rate. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 21:48:14 +0000 Stephen Koranda 14184 at http://kmuw.org Dozens Of Bills Passed Before Legislative Deadline http://kmuw.org/post/dozens-bills-passed-legislative-deadline <p>"Turnaround" is basically the midpoint of the legislative session. Most bills that haven’t passed one chamber by today are dead for this year. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 20:51:23 +0000 Stephen Koranda 13531 at http://kmuw.org