Paul Davis http://kmuw.org en Davis Raises $1M For Gov. Race http://kmuw.org/post/davis-raises-1m-gov-race <p>Democrat Paul Davis raised a little more than $1 million in cash contributions in less than five months for his campaign to unseat Republican incumbent Sam Brownback in the Kansas governor's race.</p><p>Davis' campaign also reported Wednesday that it ended 2013 with almost $771,000 in his campaign treasury. Davis is the Kansas House minority leader and launched his campaign in early August.</p><p>His campaign described the fundraising as unprecedented for a challenger.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:42:40 +0000 Associated Press 28664 at http://kmuw.org Paul Davis Names Jill Docking As Running Mate http://kmuw.org/post/paul-davis-names-jill-docking-running-mate <p>Democratic lawmaker Paul Davis has named Wichita businesswoman Jill Docking as his running mate in his bid for governor.<br /><br />In 1996, Docking ran unsuccessfully against current Gov.&nbsp;Brownback for a U.S. Senate seat.<br /><br />At a rally in Topeka Tuesday, Docking said her decision to run for lieutenant governor has nothing to do with past political races.<br /><br />She says reckless tax policies and cuts to public education are threatening Kansas' future.<br /> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 11:35:42 +0000 Stephen Koranda 25239 at http://kmuw.org Davis Launches Kansas Gubernatorial Bus Tour http://kmuw.org/post/davis-launches-kansas-gubernatorial-bus-tour <p>Democratic gubernatorial candidate Paul Davis is launching a four-city bus tour across Kansas to make a campaign announcement.<br /><br />Davis is currently the Kansas House minority leader. He's seeking his party's nomination for the right to challenge incumbent Republican Gov. Sam Brownback next November.<br /><br />The Lawrence Democrat will begin his tour Tuesday in Prairie Village, followed by stops at a high school in Topeka and at parks in Salina and Wichita.<br /> Tue, 22 Oct 2013 12:04:40 +0000 Associated Press 25188 at http://kmuw.org Sebelius To Stump For Possible Kan. Governor Candidate http://kmuw.org/post/sebelius-stump-possible-kan-governor-candidate <p>Former Democratic Kansas Governor Kathleen Sebelius will return to the state later this week. The visit is connected to an event being held for a statehouse politician who's weighing a run for the governor's office. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 22:09:44 +0000 Stephen Koranda 23529 at http://kmuw.org Governor Chooses His Chief Counsel for Appeals Court Seat http://kmuw.org/post/governor-chooses-his-chief-counsel-appeals-court-seat <p>Gov. Sam Brownback has selected his office's top attorney, Caleb Stegall, as the nominee for an open seat on the Kansas Court of Appeals. Brownback calls him the most qualified candidate for the job.<br><br>“His depth of knowledge across the broad spectrum of legal topics continues to impress me and others around this building. I’ve never known an attorney who can provide such excellent counsel on so many topics," said Brownback.<br><br>But the top Democrat in the House, Paul Davis from Lawrence, says the selection means that Brownback picked a friend for the job.</p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 18:39:28 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22201 at http://kmuw.org Governor Chooses His Chief Counsel for Appeals Court Seat Democratic Leader Forms Gubernatorial Campaign Committee http://kmuw.org/post/democratic-leader-forms-gubernatorial-campaign-committee <p></p><p>Kansas House Minority Leader Paul Davis has formed a campaign committee for a potential run for the Democratic nomination for governor next year. Thu, 08 Aug 2013 23:03:51 +0000 Associated Press 21667 at http://kmuw.org Brownback's Democratic Challenger Could Surface Soon http://kmuw.org/post/brownbacks-democratic-challenger-could-surface-soon <p>We could hear of a Democratic challenger to incumbent Republican Gov. Sam Brownback by Labor Day.<br><br>The Democrats most often mentioned as potential candidates are Kansas House Minority Leader Paul Davis of Lawrence; businesswoman and former Board of Regents member Jill Docking of Wichita, and former state Agriculture Secretary Joshua Svaty, of Ellsworth County.<br><br>Democrats say their nominee will need to raise hundreds of thousands of dollars and build statewide name recognition early.<br> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 12:30:47 +0000 Associated Press 20752 at http://kmuw.org Democrats Unveil Jobs Proposals http://kmuw.org/post/democrats-unveil-jobs-proposals <p>Democrats in the Legislature have unveiled their jobs proposals for this session. Mon, 11 Feb 2013 21:44:17 +0000 Stephen Koranda 12563 at http://kmuw.org Dems Unveil "Buy American" Plan For KS Government http://kmuw.org/post/dems-unveil-buy-american-plan-ks-government-0 <p></p><p class="p1">Democratic leaders from the Kansas Legislature have laid out a proposal that they say will create jobs. The lawmakers unveiled the plan during a series of stops across Kansas Thursday.</p><p class="p1">The proposal would create a "buy American" rule for state government. That means when state agencies are making purchases, they would have to look for products from American manufacturers.</p><p class="p1">Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley and House Minority Leader Paul Davis announced the plan, saying it would create new manufacturing jobs.</p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 17:30:12 +0000 Stephen Koranda 7568 at http://kmuw.org