Wichita art http://kmuw.org en Celebrating An Art Lover http://kmuw.org/post/celebrating-art-lover <p></p><p>This month the Ulrich Underground honors a beloved member of our community, <a href="http://vimeo.com/78381382">Ruth Ann Martin,</a> in the exhibition, <a href="http://webs.wichita.edu/?u=ulrichmuseum&amp;p=/Art/Exhibitions/Fill_It_To_the_Brim/"><em>Fill It to the Brim</em></a>.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 35715 at http://kmuw.org Celebrating An Art Lover Experiencing 'The Bridge Club' http://kmuw.org/post/experiencing-bridge-club <p></p><p>There has been a lot of performance art in Wichita lately: ProjectvRunaway for WSU Shift Space, George Ferrandi with Harvester Arts, and The Bridge Club brought in by the Ulrich Museum.</p><p>For those who may not "get" performance art, you are far from alone. But let me offer this brief explanation: Performance artists craft experiences, instead of paintings or sculptures. It is ephemeral, and while there may be photographic documentation, viewing images and experiencing the performance are two separate things.</p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 33736 at http://kmuw.org Experiencing 'The Bridge Club' Mechanical Sculptures In An Unusual Gallery http://kmuw.org/post/mechanical-sculptures-unusual-gallery <p></p><p>On Commerce Street, you can find a number of art galleries, but there is one that I would even hesitate to call a “gallery.” It’s really a restoration workshop with a space for art up front.</p><p>The garage-slash-art space seems an unlikely pairing, but every time I walk into <a href="http://goawaygarage.blogspot.com/">Go Away Garage</a>, I’m impressed by either the quality of craftsmanship in the art or the quality of the presentation. Last Final Friday, I was impressed by both.</p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 32375 at http://kmuw.org Mechanical Sculptures In An Unusual Gallery Promising 'Telephone' Ultimately A Disappointment http://kmuw.org/post/promising-telephone-ultimately-disappointment <p></p><p>For February’s Final Friday, Fisch Haus hosted a multi-media, interpretative art installation they called <em>Shattered Telephone</em>. The concept is a blend of the grade-school game "Broken Telephone" and, of similar structure, the Surrealist poetic technique called "Exquisite Corpse."</p><p>Fisch Haus’ event expanded these ideas to include actors, dancers, artists, musicians, writers, filmmakers, video artists, storytellers and a stenographer for big, Michael Bay-esque creative explosions.</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 31014 at http://kmuw.org Promising 'Telephone' Ultimately A Disappointment What Happens When People Hurt Our Public Art? http://kmuw.org/post/what-happens-when-people-hurt-our-public-art <p></p><p>Wichita is full of amazing public art that gives our city character. It belongs to all of us. And when it is vandalized, it hurts. It hurts emotionally, financially and it hurts the culture of our city. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 30428 at http://kmuw.org What Happens When People Hurt Our Public Art? 'Wichita Arch' Is A Living Work Of Art http://kmuw.org/post/wichita-arch-living-work-art <p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Goldsworthy">Andy Goldsworthy</a> is a British sculptor who travels all over the world to create site-specific sculptures. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 29169 at http://kmuw.org 'Wichita Arch' Is A Living Work Of Art UPDATE: Weigh In On The Future Of Century II Tonight And Monday http://kmuw.org/post/update-weigh-future-century-ii-tonight-and-monday <p><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">You can share your thoughts on the future of Century II Performing Arts &amp; Convention Center at several meetings coming up soon. </span></font></p><p></p><p><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">There's one tonight at 5:30 pm, and another on Monday night--both at Century II. </span></font></p><p></p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 16:00:01 +0000 Kate Clause 28647 at http://kmuw.org UPDATE: Weigh In On The Future Of Century II Tonight And Monday Art: 'Joe's Swan Song' Is A Must-See http://kmuw.org/post/art-joes-swan-song-must-see <p></p><p>This past weekend, CityArts opened a new show called <em>Joe’s Swan Song</em> – a guest-curated exhibition by Joe Goodwin. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 27435 at http://kmuw.org Art: 'Joe's Swan Song' Is A Must-See Art: It's (Black) Final Friday! http://kmuw.org/post/art-its-black-final-friday <p>The Christmas décor in grocery stores and shopping centers gets trotted out earlier and earlier every year. Now, Christmas decorations replace the Halloween costumes and treats. This leap from skeletons to silver bells means that Thanksgiving is left to us to keep traditions with family and friends alive.</p><p>For many, part of Thanksgiving tradition is the post-turkey shopping on Black Friday. This year, I propose Black <em>Final</em> Friday – a local art extravaganza that the whole family can enjoy – as part and parcel to the finest of Thanksgiving traditions.</p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 26831 at http://kmuw.org Art: It's (Black) Final Friday! Art: A New Era In Wichita http://kmuw.org/post/art-new-era-wichita <p></p><p>Looks like we’ve survived another apocalypse! Wed, 26 Dec 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 10223 at http://kmuw.org Art: A New Era In Wichita