higher education http://kmuw.org en Brownback Releases Details Of Budget Plan http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-releases-details-budget-plan <p>Governor Sam Brownback is proposing a reversal of some state university salary cuts and a raise for classified state employees. He's also hoping to rewrite the Department of Corrections budget.</p><p>Senator Ty Masterson, an Andover Republican, chairs the Senate's budget committee. He says most of the governor's proposed $460 million dollar spending increase is allocated for corrections, but some lawmakers will still have concerns.</p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 21:23:53 +0000 Stephen Koranda 29000 at http://kmuw.org Proposals Seek Room, Board Rate Hikes In Kansas http://kmuw.org/post/proposals-seek-room-board-rate-hikes-kansas <p>Room and board costs at Kansas' six public universities would increase next year under a proposal before the state's Board of Regents.</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 13:29:38 +0000 Associated Press 26011 at http://kmuw.org Regents Request Budget Restoration http://kmuw.org/post/regents-request-budget-restoration <p>The Kansas Board of Regents has asked the governor to restore tens of millions of dollars in higher education spending that was cut this spring. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 22:23:24 +0000 Associated Press 23702 at http://kmuw.org Report: Kansas One Of Few States To Cut Higher Ed Funding http://kmuw.org/post/report-kansas-one-few-states-cut-higher-ed-funding <p></p><p>A national advocacy organization says Kansas is one of only a handful of states that cut funding for higher education this year. Mon, 15 Jul 2013 20:57:30 +0000 Stephen Koranda 20426 at http://kmuw.org Democratic Senator Criticizes Regents Appointments http://kmuw.org/post/democratic-senator-criticizes-regents-appointments <p>A Democratic senator from Topeka says Governor Sam Brownback is packing the Kansas Board of Regents with too many Republicans. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 20:54:36 +0000 Stephen Koranda 19787 at http://kmuw.org Regents Approve Tuition Hikes But Still Focused On Undoing Funding Cuts http://kmuw.org/post/regents-approve-tuition-hikes-still-focused-undoing-funding-cuts <p>The Kansas Board of Regents has approved tuition increases at public universities that will have some students paying nearly 9 percent more this fall. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 11:14:19 +0000 Associated Press 19163 at http://kmuw.org Will A College Education In Kansas Cost More This Fall? http://kmuw.org/post/will-college-education-kansas-cost-more-fall <p>Some public university students in Kansas could see their tuition jump by almost 9 percent this fall.<br><br>The state board of regents expect to vote Wednesday afternoon on new tuition rates proposed by the universities.<br><br>The tuition hike would partially offset state funding cuts legislators made this year, while allowing for faculty salary increases.<br><br>The changes would raise an additional $34 million dollars over the next fiscal year.<br> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 11:22:37 +0000 Associated Press 19113 at http://kmuw.org KU Med To Lose 31 Student Slots In Kansas City http://kmuw.org/post/ku-med-lose-31-student-slots-kansas-city <p>The University of Kansas is wrestling with how to cut $13.5 million dollars from its budget over the next two years, but the funding reduction will not prompt the closing of the KU School of Medicine's campus in Salina.<br><br><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The KU Medical Center, which operates the school, will have to absorb more than $8 million dollars in cuts. </span></p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 11:05:37 +0000 Bryan Thompson 19048 at http://kmuw.org Governor Brownback Considers Options To Save Education Funding http://kmuw.org/post/governor-brownback-considers-options-save-education-funding <p>Legislators passed a budget with more than $60 million in cuts over two years for the state's universities last week.&nbsp; Gov. Sam Brownback told reporters on Friday that his office had received the budget, and they were going through it line by line.</p><p>He may have been focusing on the lines where universities faces across-the board cuts, and cuts to funding for salaries, which Gov. Brownback said, "I'm&nbsp; not pleased with. I thought it should have been stable funding. So we're going to be looking at what all options are."</p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 11:56:54 +0000 Stephen Koranda 18614 at http://kmuw.org Brownback Wants Sales Tax Extended http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-wants-sales-tax-extended <p>Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback wants lawmakers to extend a temporary sales tax hike as a way to fund the state's universities.</p><p>The governor says cuts to higher education would be a momentum-killer at a time when he thinks a lot of positive things are happening in Kansas.</p> Wed, 08 May 2013 11:08:34 +0000 Bryan Thompson 16883 at http://kmuw.org Brownback Wants Sales Tax Extended