Kansas Department of Agriculture http://kmuw.org en Kansas Dept. Of Agriculture To Take Over Food Inspections In Sedgwick County http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-dept-agriculture-take-over-food-inspections-sedgwick-county <p>The Kansas Department of Agriculture says it will take over food inspections in Sedgwick County rather than renew its present contract with the City of Wichita as a cost-saving move.</p><p>Its present contract with the city expires March 31, and state inspectors will take over the work on April 1.</p><p>The Agriculture Department says doing its own food inspections is projected to save $125,000 the first year, and $190,000 the second year and the years beyond that. It plans to hire six state inspectors to handle the work.</p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 15:54:41 +0000 Associated Press 28838 at http://kmuw.org Ag Department Simulation Prompts False Alarm Tweets http://kmuw.org/post/ag-department-simulation-prompts-false-alarm-tweets <p>An animal disease simulation exercise in central Kansas this week apparently prompted some Twitter users to question whether a real disease outbreak had been detected. Thu, 10 Oct 2013 21:36:33 +0000 Stephen Koranda 24699 at http://kmuw.org Brownback Praises Chinese Agriculture Partnership http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-praises-chinese-agriculture-partnership <p></p><p>Gov. Sam Brownback is celebrating an agreement between Kansas and central China's Henan province as a significant development in their trade relationship. Mon, 22 Jul 2013 23:12:20 +0000 Associated Press 20788 at http://kmuw.org Law Creates Farmers' Market Registry http://kmuw.org/post/law-creates-farmers-market-registry <p></p><p>Kansas agriculture officials say a new law taking effect in July will help a growing number of farmers' markets across the state. Wed, 24 Apr 2013 23:00:29 +0000 Associated Press 16184 at http://kmuw.org KDA Move Suggested By K-State http://kmuw.org/post/kda-move-suggested-k-state <p>The Kansas Department of Agriculture announced last week that it would move its offices from Topeka to Manhattan. Secretary of Agriculture Dale Rodman said officials at the Kansas State University Foundation made the suggestion. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 20:54:14 +0000 Stephen Koranda 15359 at http://kmuw.org Top Morning News 4.5.13 http://kmuw.org/post/top-morning-news-4513 <p><em>House legalizes switchblades; Kan. Department of Ag moving to Manhattan; Bill with HIV quarantine concerns is advancing.</em></p><p><strong>House Passes Bill Legalizing Switchblades</strong></p><p>A bill making it legal to own switchblades and stiletto-type knives is awaiting for Gov. Sam Brownback's signature.</p><p>The Kansas House passed the measure 95-26 on Thursday, a day after the measure cleared the Senate.</p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 10:40:09 +0000 Briana O’Higgins & Kate Clause 15233 at http://kmuw.org Top Morning News 4.5.13 Emergency Planning Begins For Continuing Drought http://kmuw.org/post/emergency-planning-begins-continuing-drought While emergency management workers are preparing for snow and ice, state officials are urging water districts to update their plans for water conservation. All Kansas counties are under a drought emergency, and the drought is predicted to last into 2013. Kansas Water Office director Tracy Streeter says most of the state's public water supply systems already have conservation plans, but cities and rural water districts should update their drought plans based on their experiences this past year. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 18:55:38 +0000 Associated Press 10048 at http://kmuw.org