Jedd Beaudoin


Jedd Beaudoin is an award-winning writer and broadcaster who has been with KMUW since 2007. He is the host and producer of Strange Currency, a two-hour music show, which airs Monday-Saturday from 8 to 10 p.m. He is also the producer of the bi-weekly trends commentary “A Musical Life,” as well as “Musical Space.” He received his MFA in creative writing (fiction) from Wichita State University in 2001 (where he was a Creative Writing Fellow) and holds a B.A. in English (with an emphasis in writing) from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Beaudoin hosts Wichita Sessions on KPTS Channel 8. The show, which features local and regional music acts in performance, is now in its third season. Since 1999 he has worked as a freelance journalist. He served as music critic and editor for two Wichita alternative newspapers, F5 (2003-06) and Wichita City Paper (of which he was also managing editor, 2006-07). He currently contributes music, film, and book reviews to, where he also pens (alternating with two other writers) commentary on country music for the site’s “Kickin’ Up Dust” column.

Ways to Connect

Riley Day is a Wichita-based composer and bassist who leads the band Daydream. The group’s 2016 release is titled Sit Still. 

“The early stages of when I was in bands—high school and early college—I would try to communicate something to a band mate and they might be able to do it, they might forget it the next week. I wanted something that was a little more concreted. I realized that the only way to do that, out of necessity, was to learn how to academically approach music.

Hugo Phan / KMUW

If you’ve driven by the Harvester Arts gallery on North Washington lately, you may have noticed something different about the building. There’s a new mural there, painted by North Carolina-based artist James Marshall, who also goes by the name Dalek.

Two of the gallery’s founders, Kristin Beal and Kate Van Steenhuyse, say the mural is part of the organization’s larger mission, which is to connect the local visual arts community with artists from other cities.

Hugo Phan / KMUW

James Marshall, also known as Dalek, is a North Carolina-based visual artist who garnered attention with his Space Monkey character, described by the artist as “a strange, vaguely humanoid mouse that [Marshall] would depict in an array of bright colors and twisted circumstances, often wielding a butcher’s cleaver.” 

He used this character extensively in his work until 2007 when he abandoned Space Monkey and began working as a purely abstract artist. Marshall recently completed a mural that graces the Harvester Arts building in Wichita.

Monday, November 28

The musical Lazarus was one several projects David Bowie oversaw in the last year of this life. A new cast recording from the stage production has just been released and, in addition to renditions of classic Bowie material such as “The Man Who Sold the World” and “Changes,” there are three new studio recordings, tracked during sessions for what became Bowie’s final album, Blackstar. We’ll hear selections from Lazarus on this episode of the show as well as music from Pink Martini.

Clay McBride

Speak with Lewis Black for a few seconds and you realize that the comedian has some things on his mind: namely, the 2016 presidential election, something he says has generated its fair share of humor. But, he adds, it’s not necessarily something that has him laughing.

“It’s funny-on-the-surface funny,” he says. “As a comic, I look at it and I laugh. As a person, it’s utterly reprehensible. You’ve got a two-party system. I’ve never been thrilled with either the Democrats or the Republicans, no matter what people think, and the fact of the matter is, this is it. Enough’s enough.

Courtesy photo

Foreigner is currently on a run of shows that will offer fans the chance to hear songs such as “I Want To Know What Love Is” in an acoustic setting.

Multi-instrumentalist Thom Gimbel, who joined the band in the 1990s, says that Foreigner is his true musical home. Gimbel graduated from Berklee College of Music in Boston in the 1980s and soon found himself playing with acclaimed songwriter Jon Butcher.

“He was already a national act even though he was based in New England,” Gimbel says.

Courtesy photo

When people talk about the band Chicago, it’s impossible not to mention the group’s horn section.

When the band came onto the music scene in the late 1960s, its sound set it apart from the psychedelic and folk music of the time. Chicago Transit Authority, as it was first known, took elements of classical, jazz and R&B music and emerged with a sound that is distinctly its own.

Album Cover Art

Monday, November 21

Swedish band Goat performs in masks and remains wrapped in deep mystery. The group is back with a double LP that draws attentions to its world and heavy rock interests. It’s the band’s idea of an unplugged album but it’s anything but what you’d expect. We’ll hear from Goat’s Requiem on this episode as well as music from Brownout Presents Brown Sabbath, the Latin-infused Black Sabbath tribute project.

Tuesday, November 22

Drew Kelly is a Wichita-based singer songwriter who, here, recounts how a major illness transformed his musical experience. 

Album Cover Art

Thursday, November 10

Stick Men is the musical project featuring Pat Mastelotto and Tony Levin of King Crimson as well as Markus Reuter, who has collaborated with both musicians in The Crimson ProjeKCt. Stick Men’s latest release is titled Prog Noir. We’ll hear selections from that as well as music from Mike Watt’s Ring Spiel ‘95 live album featuring Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam and Dave Grohl of Foo Fighters.

Friday, November 11