Awards Week: 2017 Award Winners & Nominees + 2017, 2018 & Women NEA Jazz Masters Award Winners

Jan 25, 2018

Night Train features Cecile McLorin Salvant

Monday 1.29.18

Night Train kicks off the final week of the January Best of 2017 feature and an Awards Week series of shows with music from the year’s jazz award winners, nominees and honorees, including newly announced recordings being inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame, and a performance in hour two of the show from Grammy and NAACP Image Award nominee, singer Cecile McLorin Salvant in performance at the Savannah Music Festival.

Tuesday 1.30.18

Each year the National Endowment for the Arts picks a group of living jazz artists to honor as NEA Jazz Masters. The honorees for 2017 were singer Dee Dee Bridgewater, bassist Dave Holland, pianist Dick Hyman, and organist Dr. Lonnie Smith. In a special edition of Night Train tonight as part of our Awards Week to wrap up the January Best of 2017 feature, the show is devoted to music from all four 2017 honorees – along with selections from past NEA Jazz Masters including Chick Corea, Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter, Gary Burton, George Coleman, and Benny Golson.

Night Train features women NEA Jazz Masters including Ella Fitzgerald

Wednesday 1.31.18

As part of Night Train’s Awards Week to wrap up the January Best of 2017 feature, a special program tonight devoted to women NEA Jazz Masters. Since 1982 when the NEA program began, over 150 artists have been honored – of them less than two dozen have been women. We’ll highlight music from those honorees –including Ella Fitzgerald (the first woman NEA Jazz Master) and singers Betty Carter, Carmen McRae, Abbey Lincoln, Sarah Vaughan, and Dee Dee Bridgewater; trombonist Melba Liston (one of the first female instrumentalists named an NEA Jazz Master); pianists Carla Bley, Marian McPartland, and 2018 honoree Joanne Brackeen.

Thursday 2.1.18

Night Train wraps Awards Week with a special program featuring the 2018 NEA Jazz Masters. Each year since 1982, the National Endowment for the Arts has selected a group of living jazz artists and advocates to honor. They are announced in the summer before and then celebrated with a special tribute concert and more during their fellowship year. The 2018 Masters are guitarist Pat Metheny, singer Dianne Reeves, pianist and composer Joanne Brackeen, and record and concert producer Todd Barkan. Tonight’s Night Train features classic albums, guest appearances, productions and more from all four.