Election Results From Major Races In August 7 Primary

Aug 8, 2012

Marc Bennett won the Republican primary for Sedgwick County district attorney over Kevin O’Connor.  There was no Democratic candidate.

Karl Peterjohn kept his seat on the Sedgwick County Commission winning over Wichita City Council member Jeff Longwell.

Jeff Easter defeated incumbent Bob Hinshaw in the Republican primary for Sedgwick County sheriff.

In the race for State Senator 25th District, Democrat Timothy Snow beat Perry Shuckman. Republican Michael O’Donnell beat Jean Schodorf. O’Donnell and Snow will face off in November.

Sen. Carolyn McGinn held off Gary Mason for the Senate seat in the state’s 31st district.

Republican Kathy Busch defeated incumbent Walt Chappell in the race for the 8th district Board of Education seat.

For the House seat in district 4, Democrat Robert Tillman beat Esau Freeman. Tillman will face Republican incumbent Pompeo and Libertarian candidate Thomas Jefferson in November.

In House district 86 Jim Ward defeated Judith Loganbill. Ward will be up against Republican John Stevens and Libertarian James Pruden in November.