Strange Currency

Monday - Saturday at 8pm

Strange Currency airs six nights a week on KMUW, bringing you new releases, old favorites and forgotten classics. We spotlight local and regional acts, including guests on Currency Exchange, our live in-the-studio program recorded at the KMUW studios.

Jedd Beaudoin invites you to listen 8:00 to 10:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday as he opens up his personal music vault and lets you in.

Once again, KMUW 89.1 FM and its music shows Global Village and Strange Currency are winners in the annual Public Radio Exchange (PRX) Zeitfunk Awards. KMUW was #1 in the category of Most Licensed Station.

Have a question? Send Jedd an email.

And, if you’re so inclined, join Strange Currency on Facebook.

Listen to recent Strange Currency shows:

Archive is updated between midnight and 3:00 a.m. after the show airs.

Click "next segment" to skip ahead in the show.

Album Cover Art

Friday, February 17

Prisoner is the latest release from singer-songwriter Ryan Adams (formerly of the band Whiskeytown). Coming roughly one year after his re-creation of Taylor Swift’s 1989, this album features a new batch of original songs from Adams. We’ll hear selections from this recording as well as new music from Son Volt.

Saturday, February 18

KMUW Music will be celebrating the music of love this Valentine's Day. Tune in to Global VillageStrange Currency, and Night Train on Tuesday, February 14, for the annual special feature.


Show times for Tuesday, February 14:

  • Global Village | 7:00 - 8:00 p.m.
  • Strange Currency | 8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
  • Night Train | 10:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Album Cover Art

Thursday, February 9

KMUW Music will be celebrating the birthday of Bob Marley. Tune in to Global VillageStrange Currency, and Night Train on Monday, February 6, for the special features. (That's five hours of Marley. Ya mon.)


Show times for Monday, February 6:

  • Global Village | 7:00 - 8:00 p.m.
  • Strange Currency | 8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
  • Night Train | 10:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

On Strange Currency this Saturday, February 4, we'll remember English bassist and vocalist John Wetton, who died earlier this week at the age of 68 after a prolonged battle with cancer. Wetton is remembered for his work with Asia, King Crimson and a variety of collaborations, including work with Brian Eno, Bryan Ferry and original Yes guitarist Peter Banks.


Strange Currency airs from 8:00 to 10:00 p.m. each Monday through Saturday on KMUW 89.1 FM.

Album Cover Art

Wednesday, February 1

Best known for the 1984 hit “Obsession,” Los Angeles-based group Animotion had further chart success during that decade, though the band was dormant for much of the 1990s. Reunited in 2001, the outfit has just issued the LP Raise Your Expectations which updates the pop sound that fans have come to love. We’ll hear from this new recording on this episode of Strange Currency as well as music from Clem Snide’s You Were a Diamond

Thursday, February 2

Album Cover Art

Thursday, January 19

We’ll hear selections from Spain’s 2016 release Carolina as well as music from Moreland & Arbuckle’s Promised Land or Bust.

Friday, January 20

On My Way is the latest from Kansas’ Split Lip Rayfield. Listen for selections from it as well as from Carrie Nation and The Speakeasy’s Hatchetations

Saturday, January 21

Album Cover Art

“Sometimes it’s hard to know who my biggest fans are,” says Mia Doi Todd, settling into a phone conversation from her home in Los Angeles. On the line to discuss her latest release, Songbook, a record that finds the singer focusing on some of her favorite songs by other writers, Todd remains curious about the divides in American popular music. Her eclectic range has seen her release albums that have found critics placing her in the world, folk and indie categories though any one record easily defies easy classification. 

Album Cover Art

Wednesday, January 11

On My Way is the latest release from Kansas-based trio Split Lip Rayfield. We’ll hear selections from that recording on this episode of the show as well as music from Cy J. Hamilton’s 2016 effort This Is What It Is.

Thursday, January 12

Album Cover Art

Monday, January 2

For more 20 years, Oklahoma City’s Traindodge has been releasing adventurous rock music inspired by a diverse range of sources. The group’s latest release, Time Will Never Know Your Name, emerged at the end of 2016. We’ll hear selections from it as well as from the new EP by Nine Inch Nails, Not The Actual Events.

Tuesday, January 3

Promised Land or Bust is the 2016 album from Moreland and Arbuckle, we’ll hear selections from that recording as well as music from Spain’s Carolina