Book Review

Book Review
5:00 am
Mon May 20, 2013

Book Review: Life After Life

'Life After Life' author Jill McCorkle
Credit ALA - The American Library Association / Flickr

Jill McCorkle's Life After Life, set in fictional Fulton, N.C., is told through a chorus of characters that have a connection to the Pine Haven Retirement Community.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon May 6, 2013

Book Review: Snapper

Brian Kimberling
Credit npr.org

Snapper is a collection of stories by Brian Kimberling.

Like making new friends later in life, we learn about protagonist Nathan Lochmueller through a series of stories and back-stories. 

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon April 22, 2013

Book Review: Let's Explore Diabetes With Owls

David Sedaris
Credit bluelephant / Flickr

David Sedaris is known for his self-deprecating wit, obsessive behaviors and sardonic humor. His new book of essays, Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls, does not disappoint.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon April 8, 2013

Book Review: Life After Life

As we live our lives, we're presented with seemingly minute decisions to make every day. Each decision takes us on a specific path. Some prove to be wise. Others have us wishing for a mulligan.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon March 25, 2013

Book Review: The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards

The protagonist of The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards is a writer who has lost every book he's ever written.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon March 11, 2013

Book Review: A Tale For The Time Being

Ruth Ozeki
Credit kk+ / Flickr

In Ruth Ozeki's first two books, her protagonists were strong Japanese-American women, and on book tours, she was often asked if they were based on herself.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon February 25, 2013

Book Review: In The Middle Of America

In the Middle of America: Printmaking & Print Exhibitions is a catalog created as a reference guide for four exhibits to be held this spring:

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon February 11, 2013

Book Review: Frances and Bernard

Frances and Bernard by Carlene Bauer was inspired by the friendship of Flannery O'Connor and the poet Robert Lowell.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon January 28, 2013

Book Review: The End Of Space

Albert Goldbarth is the author of six collections of essays and more than 25 books of poetry. He has received the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry. Twice. And he lives in our backyard.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon January 14, 2013

Book Review: Y

In the preface of her novel Y, Marjorie Celona writes about that perfect letter. "The wishbone, fork in the road, empty wineglass. The question we ask over and over... Coupled with an L, let's make an adverb... a Greek letter (that) joined the Latin alphabet after the Romans conquered Greece in the first century--a double agent: consonant and vowel. No one used adverbs before then, and no one was happy."

Read more

Pages