Book Review

Commentary
5:00 am
Mon July 15, 2013

Book Review: The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells

I have a difficult time with books that require the reader to suspend disbelief. In fact, I avoid them. But not if the author is Andrew Sean Greer.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon July 1, 2013

Book Review: Fin & Lady

Cathleen Schine's journey to becoming an author included brief stints in medieval history and shoe buying at Bloomingdale's. Not a likely trajectory toward a profession as a novelist, especially since she turned to writing as a fall-back career.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon June 17, 2013

Book Review: The Other Typist

Set in New York City in the 1920s, The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell is told from the viewpoint of Rose Baker, an unremarkable woman raised in an orphanage by nuns.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon June 3, 2013

Book Review: The Chaperone

One beautiful thing about reading is the travel it allows. Through books, you can visit other times, places, or even dimensions.

Read more
Book Review
5:00 am
Mon May 20, 2013

Book Review: Life After Life

'Life After Life' author Jill McCorkle
Credit ALA - The American Library Association / Flickr

Jill McCorkle's Life After Life, set in fictional Fulton, N.C., is told through a chorus of characters that have a connection to the Pine Haven Retirement Community.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon May 6, 2013

Book Review: Snapper

Brian Kimberling
Credit npr.org

Snapper is a collection of stories by Brian Kimberling.

Like making new friends later in life, we learn about protagonist Nathan Lochmueller through a series of stories and back-stories. 

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon April 22, 2013

Book Review: Let's Explore Diabetes With Owls

David Sedaris
Credit bluelephant / Flickr

David Sedaris is known for his self-deprecating wit, obsessive behaviors and sardonic humor. His new book of essays, Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls, does not disappoint.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon April 8, 2013

Book Review: Life After Life

As we live our lives, we're presented with seemingly minute decisions to make every day. Each decision takes us on a specific path. Some prove to be wise. Others have us wishing for a mulligan.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon March 25, 2013

Book Review: The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards

The protagonist of The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards is a writer who has lost every book he's ever written.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Mon March 11, 2013

Book Review: A Tale For The Time Being

Ruth Ozeki
Credit kk+ / Flickr

In Ruth Ozeki's first two books, her protagonists were strong Japanese-American women, and on book tours, she was often asked if they were based on herself.

Read more

Pages