Kansas Attorney General

Joe Gratz, flickr Creative Commons

Kansas is one of 21 states suing the U.S. Department of Labor over a new rule regarding overtime pay.

If the rule stands, close to 4 million additional workers in the U.S. would be eligible for extra compensation when they work more than 40 hours a week. That's because the Department of Labor ordered a change that effectively doubles the wage threshold at which a worker can be deemed "exempt" from overtime pay.

All workers who make less than $47,476 a year will be eligible. The rule includes government employees.

Storem / flickr Creative Commons

Concealed carry applications in Kansas dropped during the 2016 fiscal year.

Between July 1, 2015, and June 30, 2016, about 5800 people applied for a Kansas license to carry a concealed firearm.

Attorney General Derek Schmidt says that’s a "steep decline" from the previous fiscal year, when the state received almost 10,000 applications. It's the third year in a row that the number has dropped.

Jason Rojas / Flickr

Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt has asked the state Supreme Court to reconsider its opinions in a group of DUI cases in light of a recent U.S. Supreme Court decision.

People from the Kansas Attorney General’s office will be at the Kechi Fair Saturday to talk about identity theft and child safety.

Representatives from Attorney General Derek Schmidt’s office will hand out free child identification kits at the fair. The kits allow parents to keep a child’s records on hand, such as fingerprints, height and weight, and a current photo. There is also a a place to record important medical information, and each kit comes with a swab to take a DNA sample. Law enforcement can use the identity kits to find missing children more quickly.

Kansas AG Questions 'Hard 50' Sentencing Law

Jul 25, 2013

Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt is holding a news conference Thursday to discuss his push for a special session of the Legislature.

Schmidt wants to revise the state's "Hard 50" sentencing law.

The law allows judges to sentence people convicted of first-degree murder to a minimum of 50 years in prison before they can seek parole.

The state Attorney General says a recent U.S. Supreme Court decision raised questions about the constitutionality of the Kansas law.