Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

Mulligan Is Remarkable In 'Madding Crowd'

May 28, 2015

    

Far from the Madding Crowd is a historical love story that respects Victorian England more than one might expect-- at no time does Carey Mulligan, in a remarkably fine performance, suggest a 20th-century heroine, which is the more remarkable in that she is a sort of early feminist.

'Wild Tales' Lives Up To Its Name

May 21, 2015

Wild Tales is two things that are rare on the big screen, at least in Wichita: a feature made up of short stories and a subtitled movie, in Spanish from Argentina. But it leaves today, which is too bad, because it's really interesting, although not notably exciting, because the short-story format doesn't allow for much emotional buildup.

'D Train' Doesn't Deliver On Its Promise

May 14, 2015

  The D Train starts out looking like a good deal of chuckle-type fun and maybe even some laughs out loud-- nothing particularly original, but an enjoyable reworking of material that is familiar but always entertaining.

'Avengers' Is Pretty Much What You Expect

May 7, 2015

To be fair, let's start by admitting that Avengers: Age of Ultron is not my kind of movie, and I went to it only because nothing else opened last Friday. And it was pretty much what I expected and almost exactly what a lot of people will want.

'Ex Machina' Is Unusually Convincing

Apr 30, 2015

Ex Machina is interesting throughout, considerably more believable than most artificial-intelligence movies, but a little hard to review without giving away too much. So let me start by just warning you not to assume you know what's coming until it's already come and gone, and even then you may not know why it happened.

'True Story' Is A Real Mystery

Apr 23, 2015
rottentomatoes.com

I'm neither embarrassed nor afraid of spoilers when I admit that I didn't understand everything that went on in the new Jonah Hill and James Franco movie True Story, because I don't think I was supposed to understand it all.

Pacino Is Exceptional In 'Danny Collins'

Apr 16, 2015

Danny Collins is a thoroughly enjoyable comedy-drama made exceptional by a remarkably restrained performance by the usually over-the-top Al Pacino.

He plays an aging rock star whose style has become so outdated that his sellout audiences feature expanding waistlines, bald heads and grey hair, and at one point it is suggested that his audience is too old to be out as late as 9 p.m.

'Furious 7' Is An Absurd Delight

Apr 9, 2015
rottentomatoes.com

Even people who have had driver's licenses long enough to think of cars as transportation instead of thrill rides might get a kick out of the sheer preposterousness of the latest Fast and Furious movie.

'It Follows' Is Effectively Creepy

Apr 2, 2015

It Follows is a pretty effective horror movie that may be too mysterious for its own good.

'Gunman' Wastes Potential

Mar 26, 2015

Actor Sean Penn has been so deeply involved in the social problems of Africa that it seems odd that he has gotten himself into as shallow a movie about Africa as The Gunman.

Pages