Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

Pacino Is Exceptional In 'Danny Collins'

Apr 16, 2015

Danny Collins is a thoroughly enjoyable comedy-drama made exceptional by a remarkably restrained performance by the usually over-the-top Al Pacino.

He plays an aging rock star whose style has become so outdated that his sellout audiences feature expanding waistlines, bald heads and grey hair, and at one point it is suggested that his audience is too old to be out as late as 9 p.m.

'Furious 7' Is An Absurd Delight

Apr 9, 2015
rottentomatoes.com

Even people who have had driver's licenses long enough to think of cars as transportation instead of thrill rides might get a kick out of the sheer preposterousness of the latest Fast and Furious movie.

'It Follows' Is Effectively Creepy

Apr 2, 2015

It Follows is a pretty effective horror movie that may be too mysterious for its own good.

'Gunman' Wastes Potential

Mar 26, 2015

Actor Sean Penn has been so deeply involved in the social problems of Africa that it seems odd that he has gotten himself into as shallow a movie about Africa as The Gunman.

'Run All Night' Will Leave You Tired And Confused

Mar 19, 2015
rottentomatoes.com

Based on my unsupported hunch that Liam Neeson action thriller should be a little better than most action thrillers, I would guess that Run All Night pretty well justifies my avoidance of action thrillers in general.

'Second Best' Nearly As Good As The First

Mar 12, 2015

The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, like most sequels, may not be quite as good as its original, but it's not far from it, a warm little character comedy that looks as if it was made by people who like people, and that's a rare quality these days.

The ensemble cast is much the same as in number one, and there are half a dozen love stories plus the question of Dev Patel's determination to buy another hotel. Obviously, the Marigold Hotel is doing well under Patel and Maggie Smith's management.

Rethinking 'Birdman'

Mar 5, 2015

Because of all the fuss about Birdman, I saw it again and must admit I have a lot more respect for it on the second try.

I think by original review was too concerned about the transitions between scenes of the past and mental action and shifting points of view, and I didn't concentrate on the scenes themselves, which seem to work together pretty clearly to represent the complexities of a complicated world full of complicated people trying to work together.

'Still Alice' Is Worth The Difficulty

Feb 26, 2015

Still Alice is a movie masterpiece that is not a pleasant experience to watch.

Julianne Moore slowly disintegrates from Alzheimer's before our eyes, and her performance is so compelling that I, at least, kept telling myself, "This is only a movie, I can escape it soon."

But you really can't. We all know that people are going through this dreadful process every day, and none of us can feel safe from it ourselves.

'Fifty Shades' Improves On The Novel

Feb 19, 2015

I and a prominent Wichitan, whose name I did not ask for permission to use, agreed that the movie of Fifty Shades of Grey is nowhere nearly as bad as the Rotten Tomatoes and other reviews make it out to be, and I can personally testify that it is very much better than E.L. James' all-but-unreadable novel.

Just assigning actors to portray James' undeveloped characters would have given them at least the personalities of human beings, and Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan do what they can to make them interesting.

'The Babadook' Will Chill Your Blood

Feb 12, 2015

The new Australian horror cheapie The Babadook got a test run at the Palace West a couple weekends ago and went over well enough that it's been booked into a full run at the Palace, and lovers of horror movies should not miss it.

Pages