Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

'Avengers' Is Pretty Much What You Expect

May 7, 2015

To be fair, let's start by admitting that Avengers: Age of Ultron is not my kind of movie, and I went to it only because nothing else opened last Friday. And it was pretty much what I expected and almost exactly what a lot of people will want.

'Ex Machina' Is Unusually Convincing

Apr 30, 2015

Ex Machina is interesting throughout, considerably more believable than most artificial-intelligence movies, but a little hard to review without giving away too much. So let me start by just warning you not to assume you know what's coming until it's already come and gone, and even then you may not know why it happened.

'True Story' Is A Real Mystery

Apr 23, 2015
rottentomatoes.com

I'm neither embarrassed nor afraid of spoilers when I admit that I didn't understand everything that went on in the new Jonah Hill and James Franco movie True Story, because I don't think I was supposed to understand it all.

Pacino Is Exceptional In 'Danny Collins'

Apr 16, 2015

Danny Collins is a thoroughly enjoyable comedy-drama made exceptional by a remarkably restrained performance by the usually over-the-top Al Pacino.

He plays an aging rock star whose style has become so outdated that his sellout audiences feature expanding waistlines, bald heads and grey hair, and at one point it is suggested that his audience is too old to be out as late as 9 p.m.

'Furious 7' Is An Absurd Delight

Apr 9, 2015
rottentomatoes.com

Even people who have had driver's licenses long enough to think of cars as transportation instead of thrill rides might get a kick out of the sheer preposterousness of the latest Fast and Furious movie.

'It Follows' Is Effectively Creepy

Apr 2, 2015

It Follows is a pretty effective horror movie that may be too mysterious for its own good.

'Gunman' Wastes Potential

Mar 26, 2015

Actor Sean Penn has been so deeply involved in the social problems of Africa that it seems odd that he has gotten himself into as shallow a movie about Africa as The Gunman.

'Run All Night' Will Leave You Tired And Confused

Mar 19, 2015
rottentomatoes.com

Based on my unsupported hunch that Liam Neeson action thriller should be a little better than most action thrillers, I would guess that Run All Night pretty well justifies my avoidance of action thrillers in general.

'Second Best' Nearly As Good As The First

Mar 12, 2015

The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, like most sequels, may not be quite as good as its original, but it's not far from it, a warm little character comedy that looks as if it was made by people who like people, and that's a rare quality these days.

The ensemble cast is much the same as in number one, and there are half a dozen love stories plus the question of Dev Patel's determination to buy another hotel. Obviously, the Marigold Hotel is doing well under Patel and Maggie Smith's management.

Rethinking 'Birdman'

Mar 5, 2015

Because of all the fuss about Birdman, I saw it again and must admit I have a lot more respect for it on the second try.

I think by original review was too concerned about the transitions between scenes of the past and mental action and shifting points of view, and I didn't concentrate on the scenes themselves, which seem to work together pretty clearly to represent the complexities of a complicated world full of complicated people trying to work together.

Pages