Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

'Still Alice' Is Worth The Difficulty

Feb 26, 2015

Still Alice is a movie masterpiece that is not a pleasant experience to watch.

Julianne Moore slowly disintegrates from Alzheimer's before our eyes, and her performance is so compelling that I, at least, kept telling myself, "This is only a movie, I can escape it soon."

But you really can't. We all know that people are going through this dreadful process every day, and none of us can feel safe from it ourselves.

'Fifty Shades' Improves On The Novel

Feb 19, 2015

I and a prominent Wichitan, whose name I did not ask for permission to use, agreed that the movie of Fifty Shades of Grey is nowhere nearly as bad as the Rotten Tomatoes and other reviews make it out to be, and I can personally testify that it is very much better than E.L. James' all-but-unreadable novel.

Just assigning actors to portray James' undeveloped characters would have given them at least the personalities of human beings, and Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan do what they can to make them interesting.

'The Babadook' Will Chill Your Blood

Feb 12, 2015

The new Australian horror cheapie The Babadook got a test run at the Palace West a couple weekends ago and went over well enough that it's been booked into a full run at the Palace, and lovers of horror movies should not miss it.

'Black Or White' Is As Thoughtful As It Is Funny

Feb 5, 2015

I know little about seven-year-old children and I understand less about why people want to be involved with them. So I approached Kevin Costner and Octavia Spencer's new movie Black or White with no expectations that I would enjoy it as much as I did.

Costner and Spencer are involved in a custody battle over new child star Jillian Estell, who we should be seeing a lot of from this picture on. And there is no Shirley Temple cuteness to Estell or stereotype in anybody.

Aniston Is Unusually Real In 'Cake'

Jan 29, 2015

Some people can accomplish remarkable things despite the fact that they are in constant physical pain-- John F. Kennedy, for example.

rottentomatoes.com

American Sniper is Clint Eastwood's latest picture of men at war, and it isn't a pretty picture. The director who in 1986 tried in Heartbreak Ridge to make something noble and heroic out of the operation in Grenada is now looking at the less-than-John Wayne heroics of snipers.

Theme And Character Are One In 'Selma'

Jan 15, 2015

Since about the only negative criticism of the movie Selma involves its historical accuracy, let's start with that.

It is accused of misrepresenting President Lyndon Baines Johnson and his relations to Martin Luther King's famous and influential marches from Selma, Ala., to Washington, D.C., in the early '60s, and of attributing to Johnson the origin of J. Edgar Hoover's idea of audiotaping King's sex life and sending the tapes to King's wife, when it was actually Robert Kennedy who had come up with the idea years earlier.

'Big Eyes' Is Excellent, With One Big Exception

Jan 8, 2015

Before saying anything about Big Eyes, the new Amy Adams movie, let me say something about her co-star, Christoph Waltz.

I can barely tolerate him.

I'll give him his Academy Awards for Django Unchained, in a part obviously tailored for him, but his other Oscar, for Inglourious Basterds, will ever be a mystery to me because he seemed like a pure slice of Teutonic ham, completely out of touch with everything else in the film.

The Imitation Game got top ratings from the two people I talked to in the lobby, but to me it seemed overburdened with subthemes and lacking a central spine.

'Wild' Is Completely Absorbing

Dec 25, 2014

Wild is the only movie I've reviewed that kept me so involved that I didn't finish my popcorn.

And all it's really about is Reese Witherspoon reenacting the true story of a woman who walked the 1000-mile Pacific Coast Trail from the Mojave Desert to Washington state to see if she could shake loose from the depression caused by a pretty shabby lifestyle and the death of the only worthwhile person in it-- her mother, played by Laura Dern.

Pages