Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

The most interesting thing about Magic Mike XXL was that the audience I saw it with was 90% women and adored it-- but to me, it was fun, but from beginning to end a male fantasy.

'Me And Earl' Seems To Be Missing A Point

Jul 2, 2015

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a dreadfully bad title, but not exactly a bad movie, though in the end it doesn't seem to be about much of anything.

Dope is getting a lot of enthusiastic reviews, but I'm told it is not winning the Wichita moviegoers, and this is one case where I have to vote with the majority.

An Excellent Drama With A Terrible Name

Jun 18, 2015

The cornball title suggests some kind of filmography of a composer and the movie itself skirts cliche plot elements, but, in fact, I'll See You In My Dreams is an A-One realistic drama, excellently written and beautifully acted, one of the best grownup movies in quite some time.

Blythe Danner plays a woman whose husband died 20 years ago and whose 14-year-old dog dies, but she isn't desolate or even conspicuously lonely. She hangs around with Rhea Perlman and Mary Kay Place and June Squibb (of Nebraska fame), and that seems to be enough for her.

'Spy' Is Not A Typical Spoof

Jun 11, 2015

Spy is not just another spy spoof, a genre which I tired of quite some time ago. Spy is more lighthearted and less plot-oriented than most, and since it stars Melissa McCarthy, it can't get too close to James Bond imitations.

'San Andreas' Is Surprisingly Engaging

Jun 4, 2015

San Andreas is definitely of the school of Mad Max and The Avengers and Furious 7: all action and no acting.

But it is a good deal better than I expected, largely because it has better characterizations and no hackneyed human villainy. In fact, it has not human villainy at all--all the violence and destruction are acts of unassisted nature.

Mulligan Is Remarkable In 'Madding Crowd'

May 28, 2015

    

Far from the Madding Crowd is a historical love story that respects Victorian England more than one might expect-- at no time does Carey Mulligan, in a remarkably fine performance, suggest a 20th-century heroine, which is the more remarkable in that she is a sort of early feminist.

'Wild Tales' Lives Up To Its Name

May 21, 2015

Wild Tales is two things that are rare on the big screen, at least in Wichita: a feature made up of short stories and a subtitled movie, in Spanish from Argentina. But it leaves today, which is too bad, because it's really interesting, although not notably exciting, because the short-story format doesn't allow for much emotional buildup.

'D Train' Doesn't Deliver On Its Promise

May 14, 2015

  The D Train starts out looking like a good deal of chuckle-type fun and maybe even some laughs out loud-- nothing particularly original, but an enjoyable reworking of material that is familiar but always entertaining.

'Avengers' Is Pretty Much What You Expect

May 7, 2015

To be fair, let's start by admitting that Avengers: Age of Ultron is not my kind of movie, and I went to it only because nothing else opened last Friday. And it was pretty much what I expected and almost exactly what a lot of people will want.

Pages