Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

Movie Review: Epic

May 30, 2013

There are animators who could give Pixar a run for its money, and among them are the makers of Epic.

Movie Review: Star Trek Into Darkness

May 23, 2013

Science fiction movies always are hard for me to discuss, because they go by rules that are obscure to me, such as those allowing amputations—and even death—to be temporary conditions. But let’s see what can be done with Star Trek Into Darkness.

Movie Review: The Great Gatsby

May 16, 2013

The Great Gatsby is so good that I am required to give up my dislike of writer-director Baz Luhrmann for his William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet and Moulin Rouge, because in The Great Gatsby Luhrmann forgets about calling attention to himself and devotes himself to his material, and comes as close to doing justice to F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic novel as I expect any movie director ever can.

Movie Review: Iron Man 3

May 9, 2013

Every so often, my duties to the general public force me to suffer through a movie I would ordinarily not-- and Iron Man 3 is an action movie, a borderline science fiction movie, and a special-effects movie, any one of which would ordinarily save me my movie dollar. So don't expect my comments here to do justice to Iron Man 3.

Movie Review: Mud

May 2, 2013

Mud is a first-rate little drama of life among the lower classes, a little like Winter's Bone, and maybe a good deal more subtle than it seems at first glance.

Movie Review: Oblivion

Apr 25, 2013

Friday's "Go!" section in the Eagle said some things so generic to current movies that I have half a mind to make a rubber stamp of it to use as a template for future reviews.

Movie Review: Trance

Apr 18, 2013

Even with a little help from some people in the audience, I'm not sure I can say that Trance makes complete sense.

Movie Review: The Croods

Apr 11, 2013

The Croods is a quite enjoyable animation that might have been a little better if it had made up its mind what it wanted to do and worked a little harder to avoid repetition.

Movie Review: Emperor

Apr 4, 2013

Emperor is a blown-opportunity movie, which purports to be about General Douglas MacArthur's decision whether to try Emperor Hirohito for war crimes in the wake of World War II.

Movie Review: Spring Breakers

Mar 28, 2013

Spring Breakers will owe its box office success to its continual shots of bosoms and bottoms, not always covered by bikinis.