Movie Review

Commentary
5:00 am
Thu May 23, 2013

Movie Review: Star Trek Into Darkness

Spock and Kirk assess the situation in 'Star Trek Into Darkness'
Credit rottentomatoes.com

Science fiction movies always are hard for me to discuss, because they go by rules that are obscure to me, such as those allowing amputations—and even death—to be temporary conditions. But let’s see what can be done with Star Trek Into Darkness.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu May 16, 2013

Movie Review: The Great Gatsby

Baz Luhrmann expresses his 'Gatsby' vision to Carey Mulligan and Leonardo DiCaprio
Credit rottentomatoes.com

The Great Gatsby is so good that I am required to give up my dislike of writer-director Baz Luhrmann for his William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet and Moulin Rouge, because in The Great Gatsby Luhrmann forgets about calling attention to himself and devotes himself to his material, and comes as close to doing justice to F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic novel as I expect any movie director ever can.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu May 9, 2013

Movie Review: Iron Man 3

Iron Man prepares to swoop, possibly recklessly
Credit rottentomatoes.com

Every so often, my duties to the general public force me to suffer through a movie I would ordinarily not-- and Iron Man 3 is an action movie, a borderline science fiction movie, and a special-effects movie, any one of which would ordinarily save me my movie dollar. So don't expect my comments here to do justice to Iron Man 3.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu May 2, 2013

Movie Review: Mud

Credit rottentomatoes.com

Mud is a first-rate little drama of life among the lower classes, a little like Winter's Bone, and maybe a good deal more subtle than it seems at first glance.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu April 25, 2013

Movie Review: Oblivion

Tom Cruise broods in Oblivion
Credit rottentomatoes.com

Friday's "Go!" section in the Eagle said some things so generic to current movies that I have half a mind to make a rubber stamp of it to use as a template for future reviews.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu April 18, 2013

Movie Review: Trance

James McAvoy in "Trance"

Even with a little help from some people in the audience, I'm not sure I can say that Trance makes complete sense.

Read more
Movie Review
5:00 am
Thu April 11, 2013

Movie Review: The Croods

Credit rottentomatoes.com

The Croods is a quite enjoyable animation that might have been a little better if it had made up its mind what it wanted to do and worked a little harder to avoid repetition.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu April 4, 2013

Movie Review: Emperor

Credit rottentomatoes.com

Emperor is a blown-opportunity movie, which purports to be about General Douglas MacArthur's decision whether to try Emperor Hirohito for war crimes in the wake of World War II.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu March 28, 2013

Movie Review: Spring Breakers

Credit rottentomatoes.com

Spring Breakers will owe its box office success to its continual shots of bosoms and bottoms, not always covered by bikinis.

Read more
Commentary
7:27 am
Thu March 21, 2013

Movie Review: The Call

Halle Berry in The Call
Credit rottentomatoes.com

The Call does, as accused, turn in the end from a first-rate police procedural about how the 911 emergency system operates into a story of first-person heroics by Halle Berry.

Read more

Pages