Movie Review

Commentary
5:00 am
Thu October 24, 2013

Movie Review: 'The Fifth Estate' Inspires Curiosity

Credit rottentomatoes.com

Almost nobody is as ignorant about internets and websites and computers as I am, so I assume that almost anybody will understand The Fifth Estate better than I did.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu October 17, 2013

Despite Its Jumpy Camera, 'Captain Phillips' Is Engaging, Nuanced and Suspenseful

Tom Hanks encounters Somali pirates in 'Captain Phillips'
Credit rottentomatoes.com

Captain Phillips is the supposedly true story of the hijacking of an American cargo ship by Somalian pirates in 2009, and on the whole it's a suspenseful and convincing account with, unfortunately for me, two or three elements that grind me. But they may not bother you, and may actually appeal to you.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu October 10, 2013

Movie Review: A Portrait of Real-Life Communication In 'Enough Said'

Credit rottentomatoes.com

Enough Said is a very good realistic romantic comedy in which people act very much like people do in real life, and life rolls along at a nice steady pace without a lot of shouting and battle.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu October 3, 2013

Movie Review: 'Rush' Is Exhilarating, Even Without Too Many Crashes

Hemsworth and Brühl prepare to drive at incredible speeds in 'Rush'
Credit rottentomatoes.com

Rush is a superior race car movie that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu September 26, 2013

Movie Review: 'Prisoners' Full Of Solid Twists And Turns

Hugh Jackman, brutally restrained in his treatment of Paul Dano, in 'Prisoners'

Prisoners starts out as a pretty realistic story about youngsters who go missing, morphs into a story of how people react to terrible loss and lust for vengeance-- almost an anti-vigilante story-- and ends up as a fairly standard mystery with a lot of twists and turns.

And, and is common these days, it's less a trail of clues to be unraveled to a logical solution than a story of dogged pursuit of possible suspects, until almost by accident the truth comes out.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu September 19, 2013

Movie Review: The Family

Robert De Niro considers violence in 'The Family'

The Family seems to want to be a comedy, but its supposedly sympathetic protagonists react to even the slightest discontents with excessive violence.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu September 12, 2013

Movie Review: Closed Circuit

Eric Bana looks for secrets behind Rebecca Hall's ear in 'Closed Circuit'
Credit rottentomatoes.com

Closed Circuit is another of those mystery thrillers in which everybody is keeping secrets from everybody else, to the extent that defense attorneys Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall are not allowed to communicate with each other, and their defendant won't speak to them.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu September 5, 2013

Movie Review: The Spectacular Now

Credit rottentomatoes.com

The Spectacular Now was written by the screenwriters of 500 Days of Summer, and director James Pensoldt apparently respected their efforts, because The Spectacular Now is very nearly as great as 500 Days of Summer-- maybe just as great, because what it lacks in not having Zooey Deschanel it gains in having Shailene Woodley, whose final close-up does with facial expression more than I can imagine any other current performer doing.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu August 29, 2013

Movie Review: Lee Daniels' The Butler

Credit rottentomatoes.com

I have been maligning Lee Daniels' The Butler as a movie without a central storyline, but my powers of prophecy were weak: its story is the whole civil rights movement, from beginning lunch counters to South African apartheid and the Reagan administration.

Read more
Commentary
5:00 am
Thu August 22, 2013

Movie Review: Paranoia

In this high-stakes thriller, Liam Hemsworth, left, is a regular guy trying to get ahead in his entry-level job.
Credit rottentomatoes.com

Paranoia wants to be serious about corporate misbehavior, but falls short because of uninvolving characters and a tendency to depart from realism in favor of melodramatic and sentimental cliches.

Read more

Pages