Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

'The Young Messiah' Raises Questions

Mar 24, 2016

There's a little mystery about The Young Messiah that suggests to me that there were problems during production.

'10 Cloverfield Lane' is Good. Very Good.

Mar 17, 2016

10 Cloverfield Lane ​is a very good and highly unusual movie that I can't say much about because it is so full of mysteries and twists and turns of plot and even shifts genre between mystery and horror that almost anything I say is a spoiler, including this opening sentence.

'Whiskey Tango Foxtrot' is NOT a Comedy

Mar 10, 2016
Frank Masi - © 2015 PARAMOUNT PICTURES

Toward the end of Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, Tina Fey asks a question to which she gets, and apparently expects, no answer: Do the patients in the Afghanistan hospital ever get well? And a little later, a victim of an improvised explosive device insists that nobody is really responsible for anything because nobody has any real control over anything that happens anyway.

Appreciate Individual Scenes, Not Whole Movies

Mar 3, 2016

The​ Wichita Eagle described both Triple 9 and Gods of Egypt as incoherent and confusing, so I decided to try appreciating them for their individual scenes without concerning myself with whether they made sense as whole movies; this is the way I  suspect we are supposed to appreciate a lot of movies these days. Triple 9 defeated me on all grounds, but I don't understand the objections to Gods of Egypt.

'Race' Raises Questions, But Does Not Preach

Feb 25, 2016

Race is an unexpectedly good movie about Jesse Owens, the black American track and field star who pretty much ruined a 1936 Olympic games for Adolf Hitler, who had hoped to use them to prove that the Aryan race, especially under Nazi-ism, was truly a race of Superman. And it's exceptionally satisfactory because of the things it does not do as much as for what it does.

I went to the first matinee of Deadpool, took one look at the mob in the lobby, and got back in my car and went home; I went back to the last show at night, and by the time the movie started, it looked as if every seat in the house was filled. I was later told that it had been selling out all weekend. And though it is a comic-book movie and I hate comic-book movies, I was never bored. So Deadpool is clearly well-made for its own audience. But I'm not that audience.

'Hail, Caesar!' is a Collection of Fun Fragments

Feb 11, 2016

Writer-directors Joel and Ethan Coen can be depended upon always to present us with something unusual, and Hail, Caesar! is their most unconventional offering to date. 

'Jane' is Nothing Special; 'Room' is a Masterpiece

Feb 4, 2016

Two movies to mention today: Jane Got a Gun and Room.

Jane Got a Gun is an enjoyable western with the slight novelty of a woman protagonist, but nothing special despite Natalie Portman as star; but Room is unique in the literal sense, and a masterpiece.

'Dirty Grandpa' Makers Seem (Rightfully) Ashamed

Jan 28, 2016

To me, Dirty Grandpa looks like an attempt to make friendly comedy out of what a rather nasty adolescent boy would like to think the ideal life would still look like when he reached 71: nothing but sex and gross-out humor, with a great number of willing girls running around in bikinis and thongs.

'Carol' is Excellent... and Highly Unusual

Jan 21, 2016

Carol is a really excellent and highly unusual movie that may be suffering at the box office for its very superiority, despite the awards nominations for both of its stars. 

Pages