Movie Review

Movie reviewer Fletcher Powell shares his opinions on Hollywood's best efforts. Tune in every Thursday for the latest review.

The movie review can also be heard on iTunes. Listen or subscribe here.

'Money Monster' Never Quite Lets You Go

May 19, 2016

Money Monster is a first-rate suspense movie about a hostage situation, frequently compared to Sidney Lumet and Al Pacino's Dog Day Afternoon. But Money Monster is a lot more complicated than Dog Day Afternoon, with a lot more to think about. The hostage taker this time has a much more public motive, and the movie has a lot more relevance to public issues and current public debate.

'Captain America: Civil War' Will More Than Satisfy

May 17, 2016

I avoid comic book movies successfully enough that I really can't judge, but Captain America: Civil War does seem to have more thought content than is usual with action thrillers.

'Everybody Wants Some' is Not for Everybody

May 5, 2016

Everybody Wants Some is the only movie I can think of that reminded me of My Dinner With Andre, from back in 1981, in which Wallace Shawn and Andre Gregory sat down to dinner in the first shots and didn't get up until almost two hours later, after accomplishing nothing but meandering chatter--they didn't even eat their dinner. In Everybody Wants Some, a gaggle of college baseball players and other college students report to campus a few days before classes start and squander a little over two hours of screen time accomplishing even less.

'Winter's War' is Part Two of a Strange Trilogy

Apr 28, 2016

In the first place, The Huntsman: Winter's War, which is supposed to be some kind of sequel to Snow White and the Huntsman, which had Kristen Stewart as Snow White, has neither Kristen Stewart nor anybody else as Snow White, whose birth is announced at the very end of the movie. It also kills off just about anybody who might have a role in the real story of Snow White, so the creators of this strange trilogy are going to have to create a whole new cast for the third movie in order to get to the Snow White story at all.

'Criminal' Is Consistently Interesting

Apr 21, 2016

Criminal starts out with a premise strongly suggestive of a horror movie, progresses with fairly believable developments like a mystery story, and concludes with a sudden outburst of violence like an action thriller. The progression is not particularly illogical, but it is misleading, and it may leave everybody with a feeling of having been served satisfaction at one point or another, but very few being happy with the movie as whole.

'Midnight Special' is a Challenging Brain Teaser

Apr 14, 2016

As much as I could figure it out, Midnight Special is a fascinating movie full of suspense and mystery, a sort of challenging brain teaser that I'm willing to risk spoilers in my review of because I'm not at all sure my interpretation is right. You may want to pass this review up if you think you're going to see Midnight Special, but it might give you a bit of a head start.

'Eye In The Sky' Will Keep You Guessing

Apr 7, 2016

The new drone warfare thriller Eye in the Sky is not only a first-rate suspenser but almost a police procedural about the use of drones in assassination attempts, with big drones the size of small airplanes, little drones the size of birds, and tiny drones the size of junebugs. 

Sally Field's 'Doris' is Quite Lovable

Mar 31, 2016

You might be afraid a story about a seventy-year-old woman who develops yearning eyes toward a young man of maybe thirty would inevitable be either romantically sentimental or cynically satiric, but Hello, My Name is Doris is neither one; it's serious but somehow cheerful made by people who like people and think life is worthwhile despite the ways people act occasionally.

'The Young Messiah' Raises Questions

Mar 24, 2016

There's a little mystery about The Young Messiah that suggests to me that there were problems during production.

'10 Cloverfield Lane' is Good. Very Good.

Mar 17, 2016

10 Cloverfield Lane ​is a very good and highly unusual movie that I can't say much about because it is so full of mysteries and twists and turns of plot and even shifts genre between mystery and horror that almost anything I say is a spoiler, including this opening sentence.

Pages