Anya Kamenetz http://kmuw.org en Charter Schools, Money And Test Scores http://kmuw.org/post/charters-money-and-test-scores The University of Arkansas <a href="http://www.uaedreform.org/">today released</a> what it calls a "first ever" study exploring the relationship between charter school funding and student achievement. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:38:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 37852 at http://kmuw.org Charter Schools, Money And Test Scores The Collapse Of Corinthian Colleges http://kmuw.org/post/collapse-corinthian-colleges <em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/ed/2014/07/16/331700270/students-react-to-the-closure-of-a-giant-for-profit-college">Read our follow-up version.</a> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 37096 at http://kmuw.org The Return Of The One-Room Schoolhouse http://kmuw.org/post/return-one-room-schoolhouse Even if your grandpa didn't walk uphill to school both ways, or have to break the ice on the bucket before fetching a drink with the dipper, you probably have iconic images in your mind of the one-room schoolhouse. It's a storied piece of America's past dating back to the Colonial era.<p>But in most of America, the idea of students of all ages learning in a single classroom, with a single teacher, has long been as dated as the donkey cart. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 14:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 36837 at http://kmuw.org The Return Of The One-Room Schoolhouse Asking Kids With Special Needs To Clear The Same Bar http://kmuw.org/post/asking-kids-special-needs-clear-same-bar Jackson Ellis will soon head to fourth grade. Diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder, he's been receiving publicly funded services since he was 15 months old. Jackson's mother, Rebecca Ellis, a single parent, has made education advocacy her career. She's fighting to make sure her son gets the help he needs at his Mandeville, Louisiana public school. That's always been an uphill battle. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 11:23:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 36775 at http://kmuw.org Mass Collection Of Student Data Raises Privacy Concerns http://kmuw.org/post/mass-collection-student-data-raises-privacy-concerns States are centralizing record-keeping and tracking student progress, while online educational software sheds light on how students learn. But many worry about how this information could be misused. Mon, 26 May 2014 21:17:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 35023 at http://kmuw.org Why Education Is The Most Important Revolution Of Our Time http://kmuw.org/post/why-education-most-important-revolution-our-time Learning is something people, like other animals, do whenever our eyes are open. Education, though, is uniquely human, and right now it's at an unusual point of flux.<p>By some accounts, education is a <a href="http://www.edudemic.com/whoa-education-is-a-7-trillion-dollar-industry/">$7 trillion global industry</a> ripe for disruption. Others see it as almost a sacred pursuit — a means of nurturing developing minds while preserving tradition. Around the world, education means equal rights and opportunity. Mon, 19 May 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 34646 at http://kmuw.org Why Education Is The Most Important Revolution Of Our Time State Spots In Preschool Declining, Report Finds http://kmuw.org/post/state-spots-preschool-declining-report-finds Public preschool enrollment fell slightly last year, according to a <a href="http://nieer.org/publications/state-preschool-2013">report released today</a> by researchers at Rutgers University.<p>About 9,000 fewer children attended public pre-K programs in 2013 than in 2012, the report from the university's <a href="http://nieer.org/publications/state-preschool-2013">National Institute for Early Education Research </a>says. Tue, 13 May 2014 19:54:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 34386 at http://kmuw.org State Spots In Preschool Declining, Report Finds Poll: Prestigious Colleges Won't Make You Happier In Life Or Work http://kmuw.org/post/poll-prestigious-colleges-wont-make-you-happier-life-or-work There's plenty of anxiety in the U.S. over getting into a top college. But a <a href="http://www.gallup.com/strategicconsulting/en-us/education.aspx">new Gallup poll</a> suggests that, later in life, it doesn't matter nearly as much as we think. Tue, 06 May 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 34047 at http://kmuw.org Poll: Prestigious Colleges Won't Make You Happier In Life Or Work In Age Of Custom-Tailored Ed Tech, Teachers Shop Off The Rack http://kmuw.org/post/age-custom-tailored-ed-tech-teachers-shop-rack The big names in the growing education-technology industry gathered in Arizona this week.<p>The <a href="http://edinnovation.gsvadvisors.com/">"Education Innovation Summit"</a> styles itself the "Davos of ed-tech." Educators, philanthropists and political leaders like Jeb Bush rubbed elbows with the investors, venture capitalists, big companies like Microsoft and small companies hoping to get big. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 33466 at http://kmuw.org In Age Of Custom-Tailored Ed Tech, Teachers Shop Off The Rack Study: 2 In 5 Americans Earning Degrees After High School http://kmuw.org/post/study-2-5-americans-earning-degrees-after-high-school America may have a shot at rejoining the world's most educated nations by 2025, according to a report released Monday by the <a href="http://www.luminafoundation.org/">Lumina Foundation</a>.<p>The Indianapolis-based foundation's annual report finds some encouraging data to counter the familiar story of a nation that is famed for its colleges and universities but trails many other countries when it comes to the percentage of people with a degree beyond high school.<p>A bit of background here: The U.S. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:01:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 33365 at http://kmuw.org