health insurance http://kmuw.org en Blue Cross To Continue Canceled Plans http://kmuw.org/post/blue-cross-continue-canceled-plans <p>The largest health insurance company in Kansas will offer another year of coverage under plans that it had expected to cancel because of the federal health care overhaul. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 23:43:22 +0000 Associated Press 26541 at http://kmuw.org State, Blue Cross To Review Obama Decision http://kmuw.org/post/state-blue-cross-review-obama-decision <p>Kansas Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger and the state's largest health insurer say they're not sure yet about the implications of President Barack Obama's decision to modify part of the federal health care overhaul. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 23:44:14 +0000 Associated Press 26320 at http://kmuw.org Most Hispanic Women In Kansas Uninsured http://kmuw.org/post/most-hispanic-women-kansas-uninsured <p>According to a new report, more than 145,000 women in Kansas were uninsured last year. That&rsquo;s a little less than 17 percent. But a majority of Hispanic women in Kansas&mdash;53.4 percent&mdash;have no health insurance. That&rsquo;s one of the highest rates in the country.</p> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 13:35:25 +0000 Bryan Thompson 24220 at http://kmuw.org Individual Health Insurance Mandate Helps Balance The Field http://kmuw.org/post/individual-health-insurance-mandate-helps-balance-field <p></p><p>The federal online marketplace for health insurance opens October 1.</p><p>As part of the Affordable Care Act, most Americans are required to have insurance beginning in 2014. This part of the law, referred to as the “individual mandate,” is designed to increase the number of consumers in the total insurance pool, with the intention of lowering premiums across the board.</p> Tue, 24 Sep 2013 19:58:01 +0000 Fletcher Powell 23909 at http://kmuw.org Do You Know Enough About The Affordable Care Act? http://kmuw.org/post/do-you-know-enough-about-affordable-care-act <p>KMUW's Carla Eckels&nbsp;recently talked to <a href="http://www.ksinsurance.org/">Kansas Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger</a>&nbsp;about how the Affordable Care Act is going to affect people in Kansas and what to expect when the health insurance marketplace opens on October 1. <a href="http://insureks.com/">Learn more about the basics of the marketplace here</a>.</p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Carla Eckels 23799 at http://kmuw.org Do You Know Enough About The Affordable Care Act? Health Care Reform Questions? Local Workshops Have Answers http://kmuw.org/post/health-care-reform-questions-local-workshops-have-answers <p>A health care reform expert fielded questions in Wichita Thursday about the Affordable Care Act. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 19:40:02 +0000 Carla Eckels 23061 at http://kmuw.org Health Care Reform Questions? Local Workshops Have Answers Affordable Care Act Important To Rural Residents http://kmuw.org/post/affordable-care-act-important-rural-residents <p>A <a href="http://files.cfra.org/pdf/ACA-subsidies.pdf">new report by the Center for Rural Affairs</a> finds that rural residents stand to benefit from the Affordable Care Act, or Obamacare, more than their city-dwelling counterparts.<br><br>The author of the report, Jon Bailey, says the premium tax credits to help pay for individual health insurance plans, and the caps on out-of-pocket costs will be especially important to people who live in rural areas.<br> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 12:25:50 +0000 Bryan Thompson 22301 at http://kmuw.org KanCare Selection Period Ends Thursday http://kmuw.org/post/kancare-selection-period-ends-thursday <p>The clock is ticking for the 380,000&nbsp;Kansans whose health insurance comes through the Medicaid program now known as KanCare.</p><p></p><p>The KanCare program assigned each member to one of three private companies administering the benefits as of the first of the year. Members who prefer to switch to a different company have to do so no later than this Thursday.</p><p>At a recent educational meeting in Hays, KDHE policy and program analyst Effie Swanson said one reason to switch might be if your doctor is not signed up with your health plan’s network.</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 11:03:53 +0000 Bryan Thompson 14990 at http://kmuw.org KanCare Selection Period Ends Thursday Study Says New Insurance Regulations Benefit Individual Plans http://kmuw.org/post/study-says-new-insurance-regulations-benefit-individual-plans <p>A new report says people who buy individual health insurance are saving money because of new regulations under the Affordable Care Act.</p><p>The report comes from the non-profit Commonwealth Fund&nbsp;and says cost savings and rebates to individual plan customers totaled almost $1.5 billion last year.</p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 11:46:43 +0000 Bryan Thompson 9433 at http://kmuw.org Insurance Commissioner Urges Health Care Plans http://kmuw.org/post/insurance-commissioner-urges-health-care-plans <p></p><p style="padding: 0px; margin-bottom: 16px; border: 0px; outline: 0px; font-size: 11.818181991577148px; font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', Arial, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(85, 85, 85); line-height: 14.545454025268555px; ">Kansas Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger says the state needs to decide soon what health benefits it would offer under federal health care reform.</p> Thu, 06 Sep 2012 20:24:29 +0000 Associated Press 5431 at http://kmuw.org