Wichita State University http://kmuw.org en With Odds Against Them, Local Small Businesses Have Help http://kmuw.org/post/odds-against-them-local-small-businesses-have-help <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Starting a small business is hard, and keeping it going is even harder. It’s estimated that only one in three make it to the 10-year mark. But an organization in Wichita is helping both new and existing businesses keep their dreams alive.</span></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On a hot, blacktop parking lot, Summer Guerrero greets one of her regulars. She’s owned After Hours Auto Repair in Southwest Wichita with her husband Mark for seven years.</span></p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Sean Sandefur 36330 at http://kmuw.org With Odds Against Them, Local Small Businesses Have Help Dangerous Chemical Invades West Wichita Drinking Water http://kmuw.org/post/dangerous-chemical-invades-west-wichita-drinking-water <p class="p1">Residents of a West Wichita neighborhood learned in March that their private water wells had been contaminated with a chemical likely to cause major health defects. They’ve also learned that the contamination could be decades old.</p><p>Ron Barnhart&nbsp;owns a well groomed, one story home in west Wichita.</p><p>“We came here in ’64,” he says. “This was my parent’s house. I would always ask my dad through those years, you know, ‘Dad, what’s filtering that water coming from the ground?’ He had a filter down, but it wasn’t sufficient to put up with this.”</p> Mon, 05 May 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Sean Sandefur 33971 at http://kmuw.org Dangerous Chemical Invades West Wichita Drinking Water Crowson Cartoon: SHOCK TREK http://kmuw.org/post/crowson-cartoon-shock-trek <p></p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 03:22:09 +0000 Richard Crowson 30983 at http://kmuw.org Crowson Cartoon: SHOCK TREK Indie Film Guide: Bar Crawls, Film Education and Kids In Prison http://kmuw.org/post/indie-film-guide-bar-crawls-film-education-and-kids-prison <p></p><p><i>Each week, Fletcher Powell finds the independent and non-commercial films showing in Wichita and the surrounding areas and brings them to you in this handy guide.</i></p><p><i> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:45:47 +0000 Fletcher Powell 30769 at http://kmuw.org Indie Film Guide: Bar Crawls, Film Education and Kids In Prison 'Wichita Arch' Is A Living Work Of Art http://kmuw.org/post/wichita-arch-living-work-art <p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Goldsworthy">Andy Goldsworthy</a> is a British sculptor who travels all over the world to create site-specific sculptures. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 29169 at http://kmuw.org 'Wichita Arch' Is A Living Work Of Art Richard Crowson: The Excitement of Shocker... Daffodils? http://kmuw.org/post/richard-crowson-excitement-shocker-daffodils <p></p><p>The dull, grey days of January are at hand. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Richard Crowson 28991 at http://kmuw.org Richard Crowson: The Excitement of Shocker... Daffodils? Remembering Robert Town http://kmuw.org/post/remembering-robert-town <p></p><p><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">This past weekend, a memorial service was held for former Wichita State University professor Robert Town, who died in December. Town was professor of organ at the university from 1965 - 2006 and played a major part in the university's acquisition of the great Marcussen organ, which is housed in Wiedemann Hall and was the first such organ built in North America.</span></font></p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Fletcher Powell 28953 at http://kmuw.org Remembering Robert Town Opera Stars Samuel Ramey and Alan Held Join WSU Music Faculty http://kmuw.org/post/opera-stars-samuel-ramey-and-alan-held-join-wsu-music-faculty <p></p><p>Voice and opera students at WSU will have the opportunity to study with two international opera stars beginning this fall.</p><p>Samuel Ramey, a renowned and celebrated opera talent and the most recorded bass in history, and Alan Held, an international opera star and one of the leading bass-baritone singing actors today, will join Wichita State's music faculty.</p><p>As announced in a <a href="http://www.wichita.edu/thisis/wsunews/newsrelease/?nid=2364">press release</a> on Tuesday, Ramey will have a daily presence on campus throughout the year.</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Aileen LeBlanc & Hugo Phan 28918 at http://kmuw.org Opera Stars Samuel Ramey and Alan Held Join WSU Music Faculty 'Three Women Walking' A Complex Portrait of Femininity http://kmuw.org/post/three-women-walking-complex-portrait-femininity <p></p><p>Francisco Zúñiga’s “Three Women Walking” seems to be a straightforward representation, but subtleties in expression, gesture and formal technique indicate there is more going on. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Herkommer DeVries 26189 at http://kmuw.org 'Three Women Walking' A Complex Portrait of Femininity Past and Present: Wichita State's Oldest Building http://kmuw.org/post/past-and-present-wichita-states-oldest-building <p></p><p>The oldest surviving structure on Wichita State’s campus, Fiske Hall’s story began in 1904 with a donation from Charlotte Fiske of Massachusetts to construct a new men’s dormitory at what was then Fairmount College. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Jay Price 25797 at http://kmuw.org Past and Present: Wichita State's Oldest Building