abortion http://kmuw.org en FEC Dismisses Operation Rescue's Lawsuit http://kmuw.org/post/fec-dismisses-operation-rescues-lawsuit <p>The Federal Election Commission has dismissed an anti-abortion group’s complaint alleging that an abortion rights political action committee helped finance the operations of a new clinic in Wichita.</p><p>The political action committee, Trust Women, announced Thursday it received a notice from the FEC this week dismissing the complaint filed last year by Operation Rescue.</p><p>The Trust Women Foundation opened a clinic last year in the late Doctor George Tiller’s former medical building.</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 18:45:56 +0000 Associated Press 36622 at http://kmuw.org Jackson, Wyoming Pays To Settle A Case Involving A Wichita Anti-Abortion Protester http://kmuw.org/post/jackson-wyoming-pays-settle-case-involving-wichita-anti-abortion-protester <p>The town of Jackson, Wyoming, has paid $10,000 to settle a federal lawsuit over the arrest of a Kansas anti-abortion protester.</p><p>Wichita’s Spirit One Christian Ministries pastor Mark Holick had sued Cheyenne and police officials following his arrest in 2011 on the town square.</p><p>Holick was arrested shortly after Jackson officials secured a state court order barring anti-abortion protesters from appearing on the town square.</p><p>His lawsuit charged that the arrest violated his civil rights.</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 15:57:08 +0000 Associated Press 34202 at http://kmuw.org 'After Tiller' Seeks To Turn Down Volume On Abortion Debate http://kmuw.org/post/after-tiller-seeks-turn-down-volume-abortion-debate <p></p><p></p><p><em>The Sundance Film Festival selection </em>After Tiller<em> follows the lives and work of the only four doctors left in the country who still perform third-trimester abortions, after the murder of Dr. George Tiller in 2009. The <a href="http://tallgrassfilmfest.com/tfa_presents/special_screenings/after_tiller">Tallgrass Film Association is presenting a special screening</a> of the movie at 7:30 at the Orpheum Theater. Wed, 20 Nov 2013 13:50:00 +0000 Fletcher Powell 26543 at http://kmuw.org 'After Tiller' Seeks To Turn Down Volume On Abortion Debate Mediation Set In Kansas Abortion Threat Case http://kmuw.org/post/mediation-set-kansas-abortion-threat-case <p>A federal appeals court has scheduled a mediation conference in the case of a Kansas abortion opponent who sent a letter to a Wichita doctor saying someone might place an explosive under her car.<br /><br />The Justice Department has appealed an August ruling by U.S. District Judge J. Thomas Marten that Angel Dillard's letter is constitutionally protected speech. Marten summarily ruled the letter did not constitute a "true threat" under law.<br /> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 13:27:57 +0000 Associated Press 25779 at http://kmuw.org Judge Sides With Abortion Opponent In Kansas Case http://kmuw.org/post/judge-sides-abortion-opponent-kansas-case <p>A federal judge has found in favor of a Kansas abortion opponent accused of sending a threatening letter to a Wichita doctor who was training to offer abortion services.<br><br>U.S. District Judge J. Thomas Marten ruled Thursday that Angel Dillard's letter to Doctor Mila Means in 2011 was not a "true threat."<br><br>The Justice Department had filed the civil lawsuit against Dillard under a law protecting access to abortion services.<br> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 12:50:04 +0000 Associated Press 22034 at http://kmuw.org Abortion Groups Disagree Over Concealed Carry Comments http://kmuw.org/post/abortion-groups-disagree-over-concealed-carry-comments <p>Two Kansas anti-abortion groups are distancing themselves from comments from another abortion foe suggesting the state's new concealed carry law could increase the threat of shootings outside a Wichita clinic. Thu, 15 Aug 2013 22:43:25 +0000 Associated Press 22016 at http://kmuw.org City Council Takes No Action On Clinic Rezoning http://kmuw.org/post/city-council-takes-no-action-clinic-rezoning <p></p><p>The Wichita City Council has taken no action on efforts by abortion foes to use zoning laws to drive out a clinic that performs abortions. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 22:50:17 +0000 Associated Press 21894 at http://kmuw.org Brownback Resisting 'Fetal Heartbeat' Abortion Measure http://kmuw.org/post/brownback-resisting-fetal-heartbeat-abortion-measure <p>Gov. Sam Brownback and Republican legislative leaders are resisting a group's effort to include an "fetal heartbeat" abortion measure on the agenda for legislators in September.<br><br>Gov.&nbsp;Brownback is calling lawmakers into special session on September 3 to rewrite the state's "Hard 50" criminal sentencing law.<br> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 12:23:21 +0000 Associated Press 21218 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Abortion Lawsuit Now On Federal Fast Track http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-abortion-lawsuit-now-federal-fast-track <p></p><p>The chief federal judge for Kansas has set what she considers an aggressive schedule for a lawsuit by Planned Parenthood against parts of a new state abortion law. Mon, 01 Jul 2013 23:02:42 +0000 Associated Press 19738 at http://kmuw.org State Judge Puts Hold On Parts Of Abortion Law http://kmuw.org/post/state-judge-puts-hold-parts-abortion-law <p></p><p>A Kansas judge has temporarily blocked parts of a sweeping state anti-abortion law set to take effect July 1. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 22:50:26 +0000 Associated Press 19618 at http://kmuw.org