Kansas Court of Appeals http://kmuw.org en Think An Air Rifle Is A Firearm? Think Again http://kmuw.org/post/think-air-rifle-firearm-think-again <p></p><p>A panel of the Kansas Court of Appeals has ruled that an air rifle is not a firearm as defined by the state's criminal laws. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 22:43:25 +0000 Associated Press 25717 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Court Of Appeals Judges To Hear Case Arguments At WSU http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-court-appeals-judges-hear-case-arguments-wsu <p>A three-judge panel of the Kansas Court of Appeals will hear seven cases on Sept. 17 at Wichita State University, <a href="http://www.wichita.edu/thisis/calendar/itemview.asp?VIEW=main&amp;ITEM=44411&amp;DATE=9/17/2013">as part of the college's Constitution Day events</a>.</p><p></p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 19:57:05 +0000 Kate Clause & Associated Press 23223 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Court Of Appeals Judges To Hear Case Arguments At WSU Stegall: Kansans Value Loyalty To State http://kmuw.org/post/stegall-kansans-value-loyalty-state <p>Newly confirmed Kansas Court of Appeals Judge Caleb Stegall says the state's residents want their public servants to show more loyalty to the state and their neighbors than to a particular political party.<br><br>Stegall added that loyalty to what he called "our mutual home" and to the common good will continue to drive him as he serves on the state's second-highest court.<br><br>The Kansas Senate confirmed Stegall Wednesday on a 32-8 vote, which was along party lines. Stegall had been serving as Gov.&nbsp;Brownback's chief council before the governor nominated him for the position.<br> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 12:43:07 +0000 Associated Press 22976 at http://kmuw.org Kansas Senate Confirms Stegall Nomination http://kmuw.org/post/kansas-senate-confirms-stegall-nomination <p>The Kansas Senate has confirmed the nomination of Caleb Stegall to the Kansas Court of Appeals. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 22:10:06 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22953 at http://kmuw.org Hearings On Court of Appeals Nominee To Begin http://kmuw.org/post/hearings-court-appeals-nominee-begin <p>Kansas Senate hearings begin Tuesday on Gov. Sam Brownback's nominee for the state Court of Appeals. Mon, 02 Sep 2013 20:45:34 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22822 at http://kmuw.org Column Questions Kansas Judicial Selection System http://kmuw.org/post/column-questions-kansas-judicial-selection-system <p></p><p>Former Republican Kansas Senator Nancy Kassebaum Baker and former U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Deanell Tacha are skeptical about the new judicial selection system that Kansas has adopted. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 20:43:41 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22736 at http://kmuw.org Committee Seeking Testimony On Court Nominee http://kmuw.org/post/committee-seeking-testimony-court-nominee <p>A Kansas Senate committee will hold a hearing next week to consider Gov. Sam Brownback's choice to fill an open court seat. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 20:41:02 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22683 at http://kmuw.org Top Dem, Kan. Gov.'s Staff Spar Over Court Choice http://kmuw.org/post/top-dem-kan-govs-staff-spar-over-court-choice <p>Kansas Court of Appeals nominee Caleb Stegall has submitted more than 300 pages of documents to the Senate Judiciary Committee that will review his appointment by Gov. Sam Brownback.<br><br>Stegall currently serves as Brownback's chief counsel.<br><br>He also submitted dozens of pages of magazine articles and online columns he has written, including book reviews and commentaries that hint at his conservative politics.<br><br>Brownback nominated Stegall last week to fill a new seat on the state's second-highest court; his appointment is subject to confirmation by the state Senate.<br> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 12:22:00 +0000 Associated Press 22642 at http://kmuw.org Group Using Open Records Act To Hunt Names Of Judicial Candidates http://kmuw.org/post/group-using-open-records-act-hunt-names-judicial-candidates <p>The head of the League of Women Voters of Kansas is hoping that seeing the governor's schedule could reveal the names of candidates for an open court seat. The league has filed an open records request for the calendars of Gov. Sam Brownback and some of his staff.</p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 13:47:11 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22367 at http://kmuw.org Governor Chooses His Chief Counsel for Appeals Court Seat http://kmuw.org/post/governor-chooses-his-chief-counsel-appeals-court-seat <p>Gov. Sam Brownback has selected his office's top attorney, Caleb Stegall, as the nominee for an open seat on the Kansas Court of Appeals. Brownback calls him the most qualified candidate for the job.<br><br>“His depth of knowledge across the broad spectrum of legal topics continues to impress me and others around this building. I’ve never known an attorney who can provide such excellent counsel on so many topics," said Brownback.<br><br>But the top Democrat in the House, Paul Davis from Lawrence, says the selection means that Brownback picked a friend for the job.</p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 18:39:28 +0000 Stephen Koranda 22201 at http://kmuw.org Governor Chooses His Chief Counsel for Appeals Court Seat