Dept. Of Agriculture Awards Grants To Eight Schools To Promote Local Foods In Cafeterias

Apr 3, 2014

Eight Kansas schools have been selected to receive state grants to promote using local foods in school cafeterias.

The Kansas Department of Agriculture says that it had awarded each of the schools $12,500 from the Farm to School program.

The winning districts include: Lost Springs, Doniphan West, Ell-Saline, Eudora, Maize, Pike Valley, Rawlins County and St. Francis.

The program educates students about how food is produced, and how it gets from the fields to the dinner table.