Art Review

Artist Curt Clonts takes listeners on an artistic journey through the eyes of an insider. Tune in on alternate Wednesday to hear his latest art review.

An Artist's Perspective is also available through iTunes.


There has been a quiet, brilliant force taking place at the hands of Wichita painter, digital artist, and graphic designer Dustin Parker. Since April 2007, Parker has been publishing an online blog known as Proteus Mag, and the results have been extraordinary.

Curt Clonts

A new exhibit by artist Ann Resnick titled "Local and State" is on view now at The Steckline Gallery at Newman University, and features what I believe is her strongest work to date.

courtesy of Wichita Art Museum

A new exhibition at the Wichita Art Museum called Dialogue: Drawings from the 20th Century is a must-see for several reasons.

Thank you all for listening.

Mar 2, 2016

Well friends, this is my last segment as KMUW’s arts commentator. Over the past 5 years, it’s been my immense pleasure to take in an incredible array of art exhibitions and meet some of the finest artists I’ve ever known.

When I stepped into this role, I had some very serious questions to ponder. What type of critic was I going to be? What were my ethics? On a scale from Bob Ross to Gordon Ramsey, how mean was I going to be? I like to think I charted a course somewhere in the middle, but I always strived to be informative while also delivering an opinion.

The Great Kansas Sea

Feb 17, 2016
courtesy of Robyn O'Neil

Think of a mechanical pencil and the cylinder of graphite peeking out of end—just a half-millimeter thick. Now, imagine a long, white sheet of paper, unfurled in front of you. Where do you make the first mark? It’s daunting to think about drawing this way, but this is what artist Robyn O’Neil is known for.

The Ulrich is a Powerful Place to Be This Winter

Feb 3, 2016
Curt Clonts

The Ulrich Museum on the WSU campus is featuring several important dialogues on race, history, poverty and suffering this winter.   

Gordon Parks: A Celebration of Life and Work

Jan 20, 2016
Courtesy of and © The Gordon Parks Foundation

This winter, you have many opportunities to learn more about Kansas photographer Gordon Parks.

Reading About Art

Jan 6, 2016

    

This art review originally aired on October 14, 2015.

I love reading about art. I love to read people's insights, debates, criticisms, and summations of the art world as they see it. Reading about art is almost as important as seeing the work. It sharpens one's thinking and deepens one's understanding. Regardless of what you read about, it will improve your experience when you are in front of the work itself.

Best of 2015: Local Art Shows

Dec 23, 2015
Ulrich Museum of Art

 

    

“Best of” lists are popping up everywhere, so here is my top 5 local art shows of 2015.

'The Sublime' Describes Nature and Man's Place in It

Dec 9, 2015
Wichita Art Museum

The Wichita Art Museum is currently displaying the exhibition, Scenery, Story, Spirit: American Painting and Sculpture from the Santa Barbara Museum of Art. This selection of art on WAM’s second floor presents an overview of mostly 19th century landscapes, still life, genre paintings and portraiture.

Pages